Getting Help
Citing Sources
Library Workshop Survey
Find Research Articles in One Database or Journal
- Academic Search Complete EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals - of which more than 7,300 are peer-reviewed journals.
- American Chemical Society Journals This link opens in a new windowSearch for full-text journal articles from January 1996 to the present. Includes peer-reviewed journals covering a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines including agricultural science, biotechnology, analytical chemistry, applied chemistry, biochemistry & molecular biology, chemical biology, chemical engineering, computer science, crystallography, energy & fuels, food science, environmental science, inorganic & nuclear chemistry, material science, medicinal chemistry, organic chemistry, pharmacology, physical chemistry, plant sciences, polymer science, and toxicology.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Tips and Tricks - Limiting Your Search Results
Use the Refine Results options on the left side of your search results page.
- Peer Review box - check this to limit results to peer reviewed articles.
- Date boxes and slider bar - set the limits for the dates for your articles.
Biofilms - Basic Information
Background information can be found here:
- The short essay BIOFILM is a good introduction.
- A Science Online article on Biofilm provides a more detailed description of biofilms.
Use your myOakton user name and password for off campus access.
- Credo Reference - All Subjects Search This link opens in a new windowContains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
- Facts on File Science Online This link opens in a new windowPresents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments.