Skip to main content

EGL 102 - Jeffrey Sternstein - Spring 2020: Finding Articles for Your Assignment

Find Articles in the Oakton Library Databases

Searching for Articles?

Click on the links below to search for articles on your topics.

Try different databases to find a variety of sources for your paper.  You can find popular, scholarly, and peer reviewed articles through the Oakton Library 

When searching from off campus, use your myOakton user name and password to access the article databases.

For help searching the databases

  • use the Ask Library chat box
  • watch the videos below
  • download the Hints for Searching page for each database

Video: What are databases and why you need them

Search Terms

Articles - How do I Know if an Article is Scholarly?

Academic Search Complete - Finding Scholarly Articles

Academic Search Complete

You can find both popular and scholarly articles on almost any subject in Academic Search Complete by EBSCO.  There are more than 8,500 full-text periodicals - of which more than 7,300 are peer-reviewed journals available to you online.

Hints for Searching Academic Search Complete

 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Opposing Viewpoints 

This database has articles of many types including  pro and con viewpoints, scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers.  There are also podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs.

Hints for searching Opposing Viewpoints

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Use citation results from Google Scholar to find full-text articles in one of the Library's databases.

Get help from Oakton's Librarians!

Email us

Leave a voicemail and get a call back:
847-635-1644

Text us:
847-906-2746
 

Social Media
Link to OCC Library Facebook Link to OCC Library Instagram Link to OCC Library Twitter