Skip to main content

EGL 102 - Dave Kossy - Spring 2020: Getting Started

This library resource course guide is designed for both of Dave Kossy's Spring 2020 EGL sections

Get help from Oakton's Librarians!

Email us

Leave a voicemail and get a call back:
847-635-1644

Text us:
847-906-2746
 

Social Media
Link to OCC Library Facebook Link to OCC Library Instagram Link to OCC Library Twitter

 

Choose your topic

This “Choose a Topic” exercise uses four different types of information resources to to help you find a topic that is:

  • Researchable
  • Arguable
  • Do-able

You can use these library resource features to narrow a topic for an Inquiry Contract that provides:

  • Some background information (maybe a short paragraph total);
  • A rationale / statement of why you wish to work on this project (just a couple of lines);
    and most important,
  • Lots of questions to research

Why Credo Reference? Credo can help you with several key parts of your EGL 102 assignment:squar-shaped Credo logo

  • Identify researchable topics
  • Narrow a topic to make it do-able
  • Locate background Information
Length: 3:07. Locations of some search features have changed

DIY -- Follow these steps to choose a Credo Topic:

  • Choose a topic from the Browse Topic Pages list.
  • View Mind Map
  • View Topic Page
  • Expand main article on topic page
  • Click on theCredo Citation quotation marks icon  Citation icon at top of article
  • Click on the Credo Share iconShare icon to mail a copy of the article with citation to yourself. 

Why Opposing Viewpoints? Opposing Viewpoints can help you with these key parts of your EGL 102 assignment:

  • Establish that a topic is arguable with multiple viewpointsOpposing Viewpoints database icon
  • Identify researchable topics
  • Identify researchable articles
  • Narrow a topic to make it do-able
  • Locate background information
  • Provide questions to research

DIY -- follow steps to email an Opposing Viewpoints article:

  • Select "Browse Issues" Opposing Viewpoints Browse Issues lightbulb icon
  • Choose an Issue from the lengthy list
  • Click on a "Featured Viewpoints" article, overview, or essay title 
  • Click on “Cite” Opposing Viewpoints Citation icon in the shape of quotation marks to see the MLA citation
  • Scroll back up to the top, Click on the Opposing Viewpoints Send icon in the shape of a paper airplane icon to send a copy of the report and citation to yourself.

Why CQ Researcher? CQ Researcher can help you with these key parts of your EGL 102 assignment:

  • Establish that a topic is arguable with Pro/Con viewpointsCQ Researcher database icon
  • Identify researchable topics
  • Narrow a topic to make it do-able
  • Locate background information
  • Provide questions to research with the "Overview" section

DIY -- Follow these steps to email a CQ Researcher report:

  • Browse reports, select "Issues Tracker" from  the drop-down menu
  • Choose a report (you will have to click through a couple levels)
  • Click on "Overview"
  • Click on MLA citation at "Cite Now"CQ Researcher Cite Now icon icon at top of article
  • Click on Email CQ Researcher Email iconto send a copy of the report and citation to yourself.

COVID-19 campus closure note: Since Oakton campuses are closed to students and public through at least May 16, chances are you won't be using print books from Oakton Library or other I-Share institutions this semester. Depending on your topic, there may be eBooks relevant to your topic.

Use the Oakton Library Catalog to

  • Identify researchable subjects
  • Narrow a topic to make it do-able
  • Locate background information

DIY -- Follow these steps during a "normal" semester (this is not a "normal" semester):

  • Search "homeless" as keyword
  • Browse titles to see how book topics are focused
  • Select title and view subject headings
  • Click on subject heading to narrow search

DIY Pandemic edition -- Follow these steps when the physical campus is closed

  • Search "homeless" as a keyword
  • Look for the "Narrow Your Search" options (on the right side when using a desktop or laptop computer)
  • Select "Electronic"
  • Browse titles to see how book topics are focused
  • Select a title and follow the directions on screen to connect to the book
  • For a brief demo showing how this works, see the video below
Length: 1:06, No audio.

Adjunct Faculty, Library Services

Rebecca Sedam's picture
Rebecca Sedam