Annotated Bibliography Assignment (Evaluative)
An annotated bibliography is a list of citations for various books, articles, and other sources on a topic. The annotated bibliography looks like a Reference page but includes an annotation after each source cited. An annotation is a short summary and/or critical evaluation of a source. Annotated bibliographies can be part of a larger research project, or can be a stand-alone report in itself.
Types of Annotations
A summary annotation describes the source by answering the following questions: who wrote the document, what the document discusses, when and where was the document written, why was the document produced, and how was it provided to the public. The focus is on description.
An evaluative annotation includes a summary as listed above but also critically assesses the work for accuracy, relevance, and quality. Evaluative annotations can help you learn about your topic, develop a thesis statement, decide if a specific source will be useful for your assignment, and determine if there is enough valid information available to complete your project. The focus is on description and evaluation.
Example – Evaluative Annotation
Maak, T. (2007). Responsible leadership, stakeholder engagement, and the emergence of social capital. Journal of Business Ethics, 74, 329-343. doi:10.1007/s10551-007-9510-5
This article focuses on the role of social capital in responsible leadership. It looks at both the social networks that a leader builds within an organisation, and the links that a leader creates with external stakeholders. Maak’s main aim with this article seems to be to persuade people of the importance of continued research into the abilities that a leader requires and how they can be acquired. The focus on the world of multinational business means that for readers outside this world many of the conclusions seem rather obvious (be part of the solution not part of the problem).In spite of this, the article provides useful background information on the topic of responsible leadership and definitions of social capital which are relevant to an analysis of a public servant.
Social Problem with Resolution paper:
DUE: April 22, 2020
(10 pages minimum – 30 pages maximum) Your paper should focus on a social problem you have an interest in learning more about. The paper should address social problems found in the United States but recognize that it may also be a global problem. If it is a global problem you might address how it is different than the problem in the U.S. and serve as an example of how a problem may be resolved. Additionally, papers will explore options currently being used to resolve the social problem and how you would improve on the current solutions, even if it is a radical diversion from what is presently being done, if anything. You will have to seek additional resources for the resolution.
Step 1: Library
SCHEDULED: March 3, Tuesday, in library classroom (2418) on 2nd floor. 5 points
You must attend class at the library on Tuesday, March 3. If not you must schedule an appointment with a librarian, Ruth Whitney, for this training and in return obtain a certificate indicating you have completed this portion of the project.
Step 2: Annotated Bibliography (evaluative – see last page of assignment)
DUE: One sample abstract is due 1 week after library visit (March 10) this and 9 more stapled to back of paper.
10 points in Social Problem and Resolution Paper.
You are expected to research a social problem including statistics and find information on the social problem whether it is also a global problem. If it is also linked to the problem of homelessness, or is experienced by people who might reside in a “shanty town/ or urban/homeless experience.” If you are unsure of a social problem that you can address you may talk to me.
Identify and provide an evaluative annotation (1) for to be submitted on March 10. For your final paper on a social problem you must submit at least 10 annotations, including a statistical article addressing the scope and breadth of the social problem you have identified.
Directions for annotation follow at the end of this document.
Step 3: Paper
The paper’s focus should be on a social problem. Try NOT to select the traditional such as: Divorce, children of divorce, crime (way to large), and others mentioned in class. It would be nice to be more current in the selection of the problem. If you are unsure if it is a social problem, take the definition we discussed and apply it to what you want to do. While there are also global social problems, focus on those in the U.S. but if it is also a global problem then mention that it expands beyond our border and if the issue is a little different than what we experience and how others solve the problem. Many human problems are universal but not all cultures define a social problem in the same way.
The literature review should be extensive and typically found within the last 5 years. If there is an important article that is dated further back and is seminal to your research then use it. You really should consider the more current notions as science and thoughts on social problems continue to advance.
The resolution to the social problem is as important as describing the social problem you have selected. For this portion you will also have to research the literature in the U.S. to determine how we have chosen to address the problem. You may also research other countries who have addressed the problem and determine if their solution works and determine if it works in this country. To do this you must establish an evaluation scheme to determine effectiveness in both the U.S. and another country, as necessary. If you determine that no matter what, that is that the U.S. resolution does not work and the global option cannot be adapted, then solve the problem. To do this you may have to consider economics, societal norms and values, and just plain societal philosophy toward the policy at this time. You may need to project into the future for some of this resolution. Consider as many facets as necessary to make your point.
Organization of Paper:
The paper should be organized into a(n):
Identify primarily scholarly research on the problem within the last 5-10 years.
How have we addressed the problem (f we have), what standards are you using to determine if the problem is being resolved adequately.
Outside U.S. -If you use a resolution from outside the U.S. be sure to include whether we can use the solution or any adaptive concerns and how to correct them.
Finally, your choice of resolution and any difficulties you believe will ensue
Format Specs for the Paper:
12 point Arial or Times New Roman font
1” margins around
APA Cover page
APA Reference page
APA style referencing
Annotations (10) staple to back of paper -See directions below
Office: 2470 Des Plaines