Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EGL 101 - Steve Monk - Spring 2022

Learning Outcomes

Welcome, EGL 101 Students!

This guide will help you with research assignments in your EGL 101 course, as well as your other classes. After our class, you will be able to:

  • identify relevant keywords in order to conduct a basic search in Academic Search Complete

  • explain the various types of evidence available in journalistic sources

  • use background sources to formulate specific questions about a research topic

  • give credit to the original ideas of others through proper attribution and citation

Using the Oakton Library Website

Assignment

A bibliography is a list of bibliographic citations in alphabetical order.

An Annotated Bibliography requires you to write an annotation—a brief note—after each source explaining:

1) What the source says (i.e. a summary)

2) How it will help you write your essay (i.e. what did you learn from it?)

3) Relevant information about the author or publication (Are they a recognized expert? Are they known as biased?)

4) Quotes or ideas you want to remember (i.e. stuff that might be reproduced in your essay)

5) The quality of the source (Was it well written or poorly written? Did you enjoy reading it?)

Your Annotated Bibliography should have (at least) six sources: four from mainstream publications, and two from academic journals. 

Before your list of bibliographic citations, I’d like a brief introduction to your topic.

Give me roughly 100 words on what your topic is – I’m looking for a fast, straight-forward description of your topic (and the controversy surrounding it) so I can better evaluate the relevance and quality of your sources. This is not normally in an annotated bibliography, but it’s helpful for me as a teacher.

*IMPORTANT* Remember, Your List of Annotated Sources Should:

1) Be alphabetized.

2) Provide a properly formatted bibliographical citation, in MLA format, for each source.

3) Follow each bibliographic citation with a (roughly) 100-word annotation about the source.

4) Contain at least six sources.

5) Come from a variety of publications, at least two of which are from peer-reviewed academic journals.

 

Please see the assignment sheet provided by your instructor for further details and instructions.