Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Affordable Care Act

The Affordable Care Act

The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (PPACA), commonly called Obamacare or the Affordable Care Act (ACA), was passed by Congress and then signed into law by the President on March 23, 2010.

The Supreme Court rendered a final decision to uphold the health care law on June 28, 2012.

Click here for an overview of the key features of the Affordable Care Act year-by-year.

Primary Goals of the Affordable Care Act

The comprehensive health care reform law enacted in March 2010 (also known as ACA, PPACA, or “Obamacare”) has three primary goals:

  • Make affordable health insurance available to more people. The law provides consumers with subsidies (“premium tax credits”) that lower costs for households with incomes between 100% and 400% of the federal poverty level.
  • Expand the Medicaid program to cover all adults with income below 138% of the federal poverty level. (Not all states have expanded their Medicaid programs.)
  • Support innovative medical care delivery methods designed to lower the costs of health care generally.

Key Features of the ACA


ACA Government Resources

Other ACA Resources

AARP Health Law Answers helps answer your questions on the ACA and get a report with information tailored to your situation

Consumer Reports' websites on navigating the ACA