- History Makers Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Video oral history interviews highlighting the accomplishments of individual African Americans and African-American-led groups and movements from across the United States, from a variety of fields, and with memories stretching from the 1890s to the present.
- Oakton Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowO.W.L. (Oakton's Whole Library) is Oakton's library catalog and discovery service. Use it to search for books, articles, journals, and multimedia.
- Academic Search Complete EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals - of which more than 7,300 are peer-reviewed journals.
- American History Online This link opens in a new windowSpans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience.
- Chicago Sun-Times NewsBank This link opens in a new windowProvides searchable full-text daily Chicago Sun-Times articles from 1985 to the present.
- Chicago Tribune ProQuest This link opens in a new windowProvides searchable full-text daily Chicago Tribune articles from 1985 to the present.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowEach issue examines a single "hot" topic with comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts.
- Gender & Society (SAGE Journals) This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed, official journal of Sociologists for Women in Society; focused on the study of gender and gendered processes in interactions, organizations, societies, and global and transnational spaces.
- Harper's Weekly This link opens in a new windowOnline version of Harper's Weekly (1857-1912), the leading American illustrated magazine of its day, covering political, military, social, and cultural stories. May be browsed by date or literary genre; the full text is searchable by keywords.
- Holocaust and Genocide Studies - Oxford Journals This link opens in a new windowHolocaust and Genocide Studies is an international journal featuring research articles, interpretive essays, and book reviews in the social sciences and humanities.
- Infobase / Facts on File All Resources This link opens in a new windowLinks to the Infobase / Facts on File databases available at Oakton.
- Modern World History Online This link opens in a new windowCovers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history-from mid-15th century to the present.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications using a variety of flexible search options. Access over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowDatabase of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills. It contains reference book titles, pro and con viewpoint articles, and a variety of periodicals, podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs.
- Social Problems -- Oxford Journals This link opens in a new windowSocial Problems presents scholarly articles offering critical perspectives on contemporary social issues as well as influential sociological findings and theories that have the ability to help us better understand and deal with our complex social environment.
- World Geography & Culture This link opens in a new window
Provides country geography and physical features, government, people, and society facts at a glance and in-depth coverage through country entries, maps, flags, images, statistics, news articles, a gazetteer, and more.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.
