Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SOC 101 - Cheryl Thayer - Spring 2022: Find Peer Reviewed Sociology Articles in the Oakton Library

Finding Databases in the Oakton Library

Find Magazine or Newspaper Articles

After you find your article in a Sociology journal.  Use one of the databases listed below to find magazine or newspaper articles on your topic.

Newspaper Databases

Emailing your article with an APA citation

In Academic Search Complete and SOC Index, you can email your article with an APA citation.

Once you find your article, follow these steps:

  1. Full text - To email the complete article, click "full text" (PDF full text if available)
  2. Email Icon - Using the Tool Bar on the right side of the page, click the email icon,
  3. Citation Format - Choose APA citation from the pull down menu.
  4. Email to: - Enter your email address.  Also add some detail about the article in the Subject line as a reminder.

Remember that PDFs of the article will be an attachment to your email.

Find Sociology Articles in Oakton's Library Databases

Try searches in both the general database, Academic Search Complete and the specialized database of sociology journals called SOC Index.

Remember to limit your results to peer reviewed articles by clicking the box on the left side of the results page.

For off campus access to the Oakton Library databases, use your myOakton user name and password.