LibGuides: Economics and the Economy: Find Articles

Suggested search terms

Economics
Economic history
Economic forecasting
Economic development
Economic indicators

Financial crises
Business cycles
Capitalism
United States Economic conditions

Recommended databases for articles

Identify articles in scholarly journals or popular magazines by looking up your search terms in one of the selected databases below.

You also can find a complete list of online databases organized by subject on the Library's A-Z List of Databases.

Use your Oakton username and password to login from a non-campus computer.

Academic Search Complete EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals - of which more than 7,300 are peer-reviewed journals.
Business Source Complete EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Includes full text business-related magazines and peer-reviewed journals covering marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics along with Country Reports, Industry Reports, Market Research Reports, SWOT Analyses, and Company Profiles.
Crain's Chicago Business EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Presents feature articles, business profiles, interviews, financial information, thematic issues and timely news of note for business executives and managers in metro Chicago from 1993 through the present. Once connected, select "Search within this publication."
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications using a variety of flexible search options. Access over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.
Newspaper Source Plus EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 1,000 national and international newspapers - including Star Tribune, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (U.K.), Toronto Star, Bangkok Post, The Jordan Times, and many more - in a searchable archive.
SocINDEX Full Text EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides more than 860 full-text titles including core sociology peer-reviewed journals.

Advanced Searching on the New EBSCO User Interfaces - Tutorial

Length: 3:27. Hit play and watch full screen or on YouTube.

What is the difference between scholarly and popular articles?

Length: 1:44. Hit play and watch full screen or on YouTube.

Google Scholar

Use citation results from Google Scholar to find full-text articles in one of the Library's databases.