Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EGL 102 - Janet Nogowski - Fall 2021

This guide is to support students in EGL 102-C11 and EGL 102-OC8 in their work on Paper #3.

Video: What Are Databases? (2:34)

Yavapai College Library. (2011, Sep 29). What Are Databases and Why You Need Them [Video]. YouTube. https://youtu.be/Q2GMtIuaNzU

Why use library databases?

More information: Library databases give you access to information that you cannot find on the general internet.

Quality: Library databases contain published information. This means there has already been some quality control and vetting of information prior to publishing, unlike the internet, where anyone can publish anything. Databases are not perfect--you should still critically evaluate everything--but you can have a little more confidence in what you find.

No additional cost: While free tools like Google Scholar might help you discover materials, you often cannot get them without paying. Oakton has already paid to subscribe to our databases, meaning there is no extra cost for you beyond what you already pay to attend Oakton.

More specific search options: Databases offer many ways to limit your search, such as dates, type of publication, subject/topic, and much more. This means you can create more specific searches than you can with a general search engine. 

 

Different resources

Oakton Library organizes databases using the blue buttons on our home page.

  • Find Books links users to the online catalog. We share this catalog with our consortium libraries, so you have access to a lot of material! Although the button says "Find Books," we actually have many types of resources available in the catalog including journals, streaming videos, online resources, conference proceedings, and more.
  • Find Facts links users to background information. This is excellent for building a foundation of knowledge on which to build an argument. 
  • Find Articles links users to more in-depth articles on a variety of subjects including peer-reviewed articles.
  • Find eBooks links users to electronic books that are readable on a computer or a mobile device. Audiobooks are available here as well.
  • Find Streaming Video links users to several streaming video platforms.

Video: Finding Oakton Library Databases (2:50)