Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EGL 102--Janet Nogowski--Fall 2021

This guide is to support students in EGL 102-C11 and EGL 102-OC8 in their work on Paper #3.

General Database Principles

Oakton Library subscribes to many databases, and each one has its own particulars. For now, we are going to focus on similarities. 

  1. All databases have a search field. This is where you will enter search terms such as a subject heading, author, article title, or publication title.
  2. Many databases will have advanced search options that allow you to use more than one search field. 
  3. All our databases default to results that include full-text articles. 
  4. Most databases provide filters (librarians use the term "facets") to refine your search. The include publication dates, document type, peer-review, and more.
  5. Most databases have a citation tool. Use this to generate a citation for your "Works Cited" page.
  6. Most databases have ways to save articles or to email articles to yourself. 
  7. Many databases provide persistent links for search results and for individual articles. 

Suggested Databases

Look for magazine articles and peer reviewed journal articles in these databases.

Try a database with people's opinions or viewpoints on a topic.

Try searching for articles in Newspaper databases.

Other useful databases