Get help from Oakton's Librarians!
Meet with us:
| Email us | ||
| Text us: 847-906-2746 |
||
|
Social Media |
Poll
What is a database?
A database is a collection of data that is organized and retrievable. When we talk about databases in a library, we are usually talking about tools that you can use to search and access published materials like articles, books, images, videos, etc.
While you access them through the internet, the databases you find through the Library are different than regular websites. The Library pays to subscribe to databases. Much of the material you find in Library databases is not available for free online, which means it is accessible to you only while you are an Oakton student. You can access any of these databases on campus or by logging in with your myOakton username and password if you are off campus.
Search for Articles
-
Academic Search Complete EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals - of which more than 7,300 are peer-reviewed journals.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowProvides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications using a variety of flexible search options. Access over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.
-
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowDatabase of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills. It contains reference book titles, pro and con viewpoint articles, and a variety of periodicals, podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs.
-
Newspaper Source EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for more than national and international newspapers - including Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (London), Toronto Star - and selective full text for 390 U.S. regional newspapers in a searchable archive.
To search more library databases, use the "Alphabetical List of Oakton Library Databases" Oakton Library webpage.
