The text above explains what is meant by "peer-review." Peer review is a process of ensuring that only the highest-quality information is published. Articles are written by experts after conducting original research which can take months or even years. These articles are then submitted to journals where they are sent to peer-reviewers (other experts in the same field) anonymously. These experts analyze the research findings, replicate the experiments and verify the findings, and they may offer revisions or reject the article. The original author makes the revisions and resubmits for another cycle with the peer reviewers. This happens as many times as is necessary before publication.
Find an article (peer reviewed)
Peer-reviewed Articles
Recommended Databases
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowGreenFILE covers all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- Directory of Open Access JournalsDOAJ is a community-curated list of open access journals and aims to be the starting point for all information searches for quality, peer reviewed open access material.
- Academic Search Complete EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals - of which more than 7,300 are peer-reviewed journals.
- Oakton Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch the library's catalog to discover articles, ebooks, and multimedia on a variety of topics.