2022 Learning Day
This page includes additional resources related to the College Learning Day Theme on Serving Adult Students for 2022. Selections are from recommendations from Learning Day Committee members and the Oakton Library.
- 2022 Learning Day ScheduleThe Learning Day schedule includes session descriptions, speaker biographies, and general instructions for attendance. This archived copy is from the 10/10/2022 version of the document.
Why
- A Second Demographic Cliff Adds to Urgency for ChangeAn opinion piece in Inside Higher Ed from Ray Schroeder, senior fellow for UPCEA: the Association for Leaders in Online and Professional Education, on the changes coming to higher education.
Research and Literature Review
- Adult Learner Guidebook
The Adult Learner Guidebook provides a detailed look into the adult learner population in North Carolina, examines key learnings and opportunities from the NC Reconnect pilot program, and offers faculty insights and lessons learned from community college leadership during the course of the program. In addition, the guidebook includes a number of resources to equip community college faculty and staff with professional learning opportunities – as well as question prompts to help colleges begin the process of examining their own work with the adult learner population.
-
Hittepole, C. (2020). Nontraditional Students: Supporting Changing Student Populations: A Guide for Chief Academic Officers and Chief Student Affairs Officers. NASPA.
-
NACADA Journal: The biannual refereed journal of the NACADA: The Global Community for Academic Advising. It exists to advance scholarly discourse about the research, theory and practice of academic advising in higher education.
-
Baldwin, C. K. (2020). Adult learners. In M. E. David, & M. J. Amey (Eds.), The SAGE Encyclopedia of Higher Education. Sage UK.
-
Knowles's andragogy, and models of adult learning by Mcclusky, Illeris, and Jarvis. (2007). In S. B. Merriam, R. S. Caffarella, & L. M. Baumgartner, Learning in Adulthood: A Comprehensive Guide (3rd ed.). Wiley.
-
Andragogy: Interview with Malcolm Knowles: Video about Adult Learning Theory (Andragogy)
Responding to Adult Learners in Higher Education by
This text for higher and adult education practitioners integrates contemporay research and practice. It offers insights into the diverse characteristics of adult students; best practices for admission, entry, service support and retention of students; and further resources.
ISBN: 1575241099Publication Date: 2002-09-01
Never Too Late by
As anyone who has done it knows, going back to school is a major undertaking. For younger and older adults alike, starting or returning to school presents different challenges than those encountered by teens fresh out of high school and heading straight to college. Countless Americans take on this task while working, raising kids, caring for parents, volunteering, serving in the military - and in some cases all of the above. This book includes practical advice for the busy moms, frustrated employees, and ambitious adults who are applying to college or hoping to finish earning a degree.
ISBN: 1620973219Publication Date: 2018-12-18
501 Ways for Adult Students to Pay for College by
Adults can find the means to go back to school despite the pressures of work, family, and a mortgage with this guide to funding continued education. With expanded information on online and distance learning and part-time classes and new financial aid, loan, and scholarship opportunities, this updated resource teaches adult students how to find and win scholarships designed especially for them, obtain financial support from employers, get financial aid for distance learning, receive larger financial aid packages, take advantage of educational tax breaks, trade tuition costs for volunteer service, and cancel education debts with loan forgiveness programs. Twenty firsthand anecdotes inspire adult students with creative and unusual ways to pay for their education.
ISBN: 1617600326Publication Date: 2013-06-01
Application
- Adult Learners Advising CommunityThe Adult Learners Advising Community serves advisors who spend a significant portion of their duties serving adult students. Through the sharing of information and experiences, our community assists advisors and administrators in understanding, addressing, and advocating for the unique needs of adult learners.
- NACADA JournalThe NACADA Journal is the biannual refereed journal of the NACADA: The Global Community for Academic Advising. It exists to advance scholarly discourse about the research, theory and practice of academic advising in higher education.
- College orientations on the rise for adult learnersInside Higher Ed article on how orientation can assist adult learners.
- 7 Motivational TED Talks for the Overwhelmed Adult StudentA list of student focused TED talks from SNU Professional and Graduate Studies.
Speaker Recommended Resources
- Education Strategy Group. (2021). The accelerating recovery through credentials adult-ready playbook. --Recommended by Learning Day speaker Annie Phillips.
- Education Strategy Group. (2020). A more unified community college. --Recommended by Learning Day speaker Annie Phillips.
-
Rutledge, Pamela. (2012). Revising Maslow’s hierarchy for a socially-connected world. Media Psychology.
The Blackwell Companion to Social Inequalities by
The Blackwell Companion to Social Inequalities is a first-rate collection of social science scholarship on inequalities, emphasizing race, ethnicity, class, gender, sexuality, age, and nationality. Highlights themes that represent the scope and range of theoretical orientations, contemporary emphases, and emerging topics in the field of social inequalities. Gives special attention to debates in the field, developing trends and directions, and interdisciplinary influences in the study of social inequalities. Includes an editorial introduction and suggestions for further reading.
ISBN: 9780631231547Publication Date: 2005-10-07
Relationship-Rich Education by
What single factor makes for an excellent college education? As it turns out, it's pretty simple: human relationships. Decades of research demonstrate the transformative potential and the lasting legacies of a relationship-rich college experience. Critics suggest that to build connections with peers, faculty, staff, and other mentors is expensive and only an option at elite institutions where instructors have the luxury of time with students. But in this revelatory book brimming with the voices of students, faculty, and staff from across the country, Peter Felten and Leo M. Lambert argue that relationship-rich environments can and should exist for all students at all types of institutions. In Relationship-Rich Education, Felten and Lambert demonstrate that for relationships to be central in undergraduate education, colleges and universities do not require immense resources, privileged students, or specially qualified faculty and staff. All students learn best in an environment characterized by high expectation and high support, and all faculty and staff can learn to teach and work in ways that enable relationship-based education. Emphasizing the centrality of the classroom experience to fostering quality relationships, Felten and Lambert focus on students' influence in shaping the learning environment for their peers, as well as the key difference a single, well-timed conversation can make in a student's life. They also stress that relationship-rich education is particularly important for first-generation college students, who bring significant capacities to college but often face long-standing inequities and barriers to attaining their educational aspirations. Drawing on nearly 400 interviews with students, faculty, and staff at 29 higher education institutions across the country, Relationship-Rich Education provides readers with practical advice on how they can develop and sustain powerful relationship-based learning in their own contexts. Ultimately, the book is an invitation?and a challenge?for faculty, administrators, and student life staff to move relationships from the periphery to the center of undergraduate education.
ISBN: 9781421439365Publication Date: 2020-11-03
