Getting Help
Citing Sources
Find Research Articles
-
Academic Search Ultimate - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with around 10,000 full-text periodicals - of which more than 9,000 are peer-reviewed journals.
-
American Chemical Society Journals This link opens in a new window
Search for full-text journal articles from January 1996 to the present. Includes peer-reviewed journals covering a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines ...
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Is it in MedLine?
To see if a journal is in the MEDLINE database search the National Library of Medicine's NLM Catalog.
- Put the journal title in the search box along with [jo]
- See if the journal title lists "journals currently indexed in MEDLINE"--if yes, use the article!
Biofilms - Basic Information
Background information can be found here:
- The short essay BIOFILM is a good introduction.
- A Science Online article on Biofilm provides a more detailed description of biofilms.
Use your myOakton user name and password for off campus access.
-
Credo Reference - All Subjects Search This link opens in a new windowContains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
-
Science Online - Infobase This link opens in a new window
Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments.