Suggested Databases for News / Journalism Coverage
- U.S. Major Dailies
The database includes access to the following major newspapers in one location:
New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal , Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications using a variety of flexible search options. Access over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.
- Newspaper Source Plus EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 1,000 national and international newspapers - including Star Tribune, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (U.K.), Toronto Star, Bangkok Post, The Jordan Times, and many more - in a searchable archive.
Suggested Databases for Topic Overviews (Background / Reference Info)
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowEach issue examines a single "hot" topic with comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts.
- Credo Reference - All Subjects Search This link opens in a new windowContains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowDatabase of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills. It contains reference book titles, pro and con viewpoint articles, and a variety of periodicals, podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs.
Suggestions for Finding First-Person Narratives
- How to find and evaluate personal accounts from social mediaHow do reporters verify social media and user-generated content? An NBC News senior social newsgathering reporter shows us how it’s done.
1. Keep in mind that personal narratives may be found in news stories / articles with interviews and books where interviews are collected.
2. Try some of the following keyword combinations when searching Google
a) "first-person" _______
for ex., "first-person" asian discrimiation; "first-person" clergy consultation abortion.
b) oral history _______
for ex., oral history gaza
c) storytelling topic _______
for ex., storyelling gaza; storytelling racial bias medicine
d) interviews _______
for ex., interviews asian discrimination
e) personal narrative_______
"personal narrative" racial bias medicine
3. Discover the right hashtags when searching social media.
It's mostly trial and error. For example you might start with asian discrimination and find that most user generated content is using the hashtag #stopasianhate.
Sift through people talking about the topic and stay focused on accounts of people talking about their own experience.
Target your search by playing with keywords for ex., racial bias doctor experience