Government Websites
"In the first few days of Donald Trump’s second presidency, his administration has already overhauled the federal government’s online footprint."
An NBC News article from Kevin Collier describes examples of webpages being deleted. Information on reproductive rights, gun violence, DEI policies, and Spanish language information has disappeared from U.S. government webpages as of January 21, 2025.
Collier, Kevin. (2025, Jan. 22). Government webpages vanish under Trump, from DEI to reproductive rights. NBCnews.com. https://www.nbcnews.com/tech/tech-news/government-websites-vanish-trump-constitution-dei-rcna188522
Internet Archive - WayBack Machine
The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, people with print disabilities, and the general public. Our mission is to provide Universal Access to All Knowledge.
We began in 1996 by archiving the Internet itself, a medium that was just beginning to grow in use. Like newspapers, the content published on the web was ephemeral - but unlike newspapers, no one was saving it. Today we have 28+ years of web history accessible through the Wayback Machine and we work with 1,200+ library and other partners through our Archive-It program to identify important web pages.
Use the link below to search the Internet Archive for information that may have disappeared from government webpages
Find News Articles using Oakton Library Databases
Find news from local, city, national, and international newspapers and reporting services in Oakton Library article databases
Click on the links below to search for articles on your topics.
Searching from off campus?
Remember to use your myOakton user name!
- Chicago Sun-Times NewsBank This link opens in a new windowProvides searchable full-text daily Chicago Sun-Times articles from 1985 to the present.
- Chicago Tribune ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable full-text daily Chicago Tribune articles from 1849 to the present.
- Daily Herald NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text daily and searchable archived newspapers in Illinois covering North West Cook County, DuPage, Lake, McHenry and Kane Counties and Fox Valley from January 1995 to the present.
- New York Times All-Access This link opens in a new window
Unlimited digital access to all offerings from The New York Times, on any device. Includes full site access to news and sports coverage, podcasts, games (Spelling Bee, Wordle, The Crossword, and more!), recipes and cooking advice, and Wirecutter reviews.
New users:- Create an account using your preferred login credentials.
- Select whether you are a student or staff/faculty user.
- Choose the NYT resources you're interested in receiving updates for, or choose none at all.
Existing users:
Use the “log in” link next to “Already have an account?”
- Newspaper Source Plus EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 1,000 national and international newspapers - including Star Tribune, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (U.K.), Toronto Star, Bangkok Post, The Jordan Times, and many more - in a searchable archive.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications using a variety of flexible search options. Access over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.