Suggested Search Terms
- Careers
- Job Hunting
- Vocational Guidance
- Employment
- Cover Letters
- Resumes
- Interview
Books for Researching Careers
Making a Difference: Careers in Health Informatics by Call Number: CAREER. HF5381.2 .C377 2015ISBN: 9781032029030Publication Date: 2023Making a Difference: Careers in Health Informatics addresses everyday questions from people interested in working in health informatics. Typically, this includes people who work in health care, computer and technology fields, information science, finance / insurance and related areas. The book aims to tell students about various jobs that exist in the health informatics field, what credentials they need to qualify for those jobs, and a brief description about what people in those roles tend to do every day.
Careers in the Automobile Industry by Call Number: CAREER. NX163 .C375 2017ISBN: 9781637003831Publication Date: 2022A career in the automotive industry can be as varied as the number of different cars on the road today, and can span many industry segments including maintenance, repair, design, development, sales, and customer service. Careers in the automotive industry will usually allow you to work with a diverse mix of individuals and are usually stable career choices.
Careers in Information Technology by Call Number: CAREER. T58.5 .C375 2016ISBN: 9781682171486Publication Date: 2016The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics reports that employment in all computer occupations is expected to increase by 22% by 2020. Give your students and researchers the information they need to learn about the many, varied career paths in information technology with our latest Careers title.
What Color Is Your Parachute? by Call Number: CAREER. HF5382.7 .B65 2023ISBN: 9781984861207Publication Date: 2022-12-27The groundbreaking, indispensable guide to rewarding work and a fulfilling life-more than ten million copies sold! For more than fifty years, What Color Is Your Parachute has transformed the way people think about job hunting. Whether searching for that first position, recovering from a layoff, or dreaming of a career change, What Color Is Your Parachute has shown millions of readers how to network effectively, compose impressive resumes and cover letters, interview with confidence, and negotiate the best possible salary-while discovering how to make their livelihood part of authentic living.
Diverse Career Path Resources
The databases below provide comprehensive resources for individuals exploring various career paths and seeking to enhance their professional knowledge and skills
- Home Improvement Source EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Database of "how-to" information covering a variety of do-it-yourself home improvement and repair projects. Includes access to the Home Improvement Reference eBook Collection. Subjects include gardening, design, painting and decorating, woodworking, and more.
- Journal of Orthopaedic & Sports Physical Therapy This link opens in a new windowThe Journal of Orthopaedic & Sports Physical Therapy (JOSPT) publishes scientifically rigorous, clinically relevant content for members of the health care community. The content aims to advance musculoskeletal and sports-related practice globally.
- Military & Government Collection EBSCO This link opens in a new windowIncludes full text for nearly 300 journals, periodicals, and current newspapers pertaining to all branches of the U.S. military and government.
Find Job Descriptions and Salary Information
- Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new windowProvides detailed profiles of more than 3,300 jobs and 94 industries, invaluable advice on career skills, and more than 55,000 career resource entries.
- LearningExpress PrepStep for Colleges This link opens in a new window
Practice tests and computer basics. LearningExpress PrepSTEP for Colleges: Core Math, Science, English, Computer, and College Success Skills; High School Equivalency, Placement, and ACT-SAT; Test Preparation; Career Preparation; Recursos Para Hispanohablantes.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook This link opens in a new windowThe Occupational Outlook Handbook provides information to people making decisions about their future work lives, including training and education needed, earnings, expected job prospects, what workers do on the job, and working conditions in a variety of occupations.
Use your Oakton username and password to login from off campus computers.
Search for articles on business topics
Identify articles in scholarly journals or popular magazines by looking up your search terms in one of the selected databases below.
You also can find a complete list of online databases organized by subject on the Library's A-Z List of Databases.
Use your Oakton username and password to login from a non-campus computer.
- Business Source Ultimate EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Includes full text business-related magazines and peer-reviewed journals covering marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics along with Country Reports, Industry Reports, Market Research Reports, SWOT Analyses, and Company Profiles.
- Academic Search Ultimate EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with around 10,000 full-text periodicals - of which more than 9,000 are peer-reviewed journals.
Advanced Searching on the New EBSCO User Interfaces - Tutorial
Length: 3:27. Hit play and watch full screen or on YouTube.