LibGuides: Terrorism: Websites & Evaluation Tips

Recommended Websites
Evaluating a Website

The 9/11 Commission Report
The National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States (also known as the 9-11 Commission), an independent, bipartisan commission created by congressional legislation and the signature of President George W. Bush in late 2002, was chartered to prepare a full and complete account of the circumstances surrounding the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks, including preparedness for and the immediate response to the attacks. The Commission was also mandated to provide recommendations designed to guard against future attacks.
Bureau of Counterterrorism - U.S. Department of State
Working with the U.S. Government counterterrorism team, the Bureau of Counterterrorism (CT) takes a leading role in developing coordinated strategies to defeat terrorists abroad and in securing the cooperation of international partners. This site provides Country Reports on Terrorism.
Center for Cyber & Homeland Security (CCHS)
CCHS at the George Washington University is a nonpartisan “think and do” tank whose mission is to carry out policy-relevant research and analysis on homeland security, counterterrorism, and cybersecurity issues.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC): Emergency Preparedness and Response
This website is the CDC’s primary source of information and resources for preparing for and responding to public health emergencies. This site continues to keep the public informed about public health emergencies and provides the information needed to protect and save lives. Specific hazards include: bioterrorism, chemical emergencies, mass casualties (explosions, blasts), and radiation emergencies (dirty bombs, nuclear blasts).
Chicago Project on Security and Terrorism (CPSOT)
CPSOT supports broad-based, original research on terrorism and international security. Resources include a complete worldwide knowledge base of suicide attacks and attackers, martyr videos, terrorist group profiles, and multidisciplinary analyses confronting core international security challenges.
Congressional Research Service Reports on Terrorism
The Federation of American Scientists (FAS) provides the Congressional Research Service reports. FAS works to provide science-based analysis of and solutions to protect against catastrophic threats to national and international security.
Council on American-Islamic Relations (CAIR)
CAIR's mission is to enhance understanding of Islam, encourage dialogue, protect civil liberties, empower American Muslims, and build coalitions that promote justice and mutual understanding.
The Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) Terrorism
The FBI focuses on threats that challenge the foundations of American society or involve dangers too large or complex for any local or state authority to handle alone. In executing the following priorities, the FBI—as both a national security and law enforcement organization—will produce and use intelligence to protect the nation from threats and to bring to justice those who violate the law. The first priority: protect the United States from terrorist attack.
Global Terrorism Database (GTD)
GTD is an open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2020 (with annual updates planned for the future). The GTD includes systematic data on domestic as well as international terrorist incidents that have occurred during this time period.
International Centre for Political Violence and Terrorism Research (ICPVTR)
ICPVTR conducts research, training, and outreach programs aimed at reducing the threat of politically motivated violence and at mitigating its effects on the international system.
International Institute for Counter-Terrorism (ICT)
ICT is an independent think tank providing expertise in terrorism, counter-terrorism, homeland security, threat vulnerability and risk assessment, intelligence analysis and national security and defense policy. ICT is a non-profit organization located at the Interdisciplinary Center (IDC), Herzliya, Israel.
ISIS Fast Facts
Cable News Network (CNN) provides a look at the Islamic State in Iraq and Syria (ISIS).
ISIS Terror
NBC News provides continuing coverage of the ISIS terror threat in Iraq and Syria.
Muslim Public Affairs Council (MPAC)
MPAC is an American institution which informs and shapes public opinion and policy by serving as a trusted resource to decision makers in government, media and policy institutions. MPAC is also committed to developing leaders with the purpose of enhancing the political and civic participation of American Muslims.
National Counterterrorism Center (NCTC)
NCTC serves as the primary organization in the United States Government for integrating and analyzing all intelligence pertaining to counterterrorism (except for information pertaining exclusively to domestic terrorism). NCTC integrates foreign and domestic analysis from across the Intelligence Community and produces a wide-range of detailed assessments designed to support senior policymakers and other members of the policy, intelligence, law enforcement, defense, homeland security, and foreign affairs communities.
National Security and Terrorism - RAND
RAND is a world leader in research on terrorism, counterterrorism, counterinsurgency, disaster management, and homeland security—topics that affect a wide variety of policy areas and challenge individuals and nations worldwide. As a public service, RAND disseminates all its unclassified research online or in printed documents.
Nuclear Threat Initiative (NTI)
The Nuclear Threat Initiative (NTI) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization with a mission to strengthen global security by reducing the risk of use and preventing the spread of nuclear, biological, and chemical weapons and to work to build the trust, transparency, and security that are preconditions to the ultimate fulfillment of the Non-Proliferation Treaty’s goals and ambitions.
Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE)
OSCE has a comprehensive approach to security that encompasses politico-military, economic and environmental, and human aspects. It therefore addresses a wide range of security-related concerns, including arms control, confidence- and security-building measures, human rights, national minorities, democratization, policing strategies, counter-terrorism and economic and environmental activities.
U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS)
The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) combined 22 different federal departments and agencies when it was established in 2002. Its five missions are to prevent terrorism and enhance security; secure and manage U.S. borders; enforce and administer U.S. immigration laws; safeguard and secure cyberspace;and ensure resilience to disasters.

When using a website for research, it’s important to consider several factors to make sure you’re getting accurate, objective, and current information. Here are some questions to ask yourself as your evaluate websites:

1. Who provided the information on the website and are they qualified to write on that particular topic? Is there a way to contact the author(s)?

2. What organization, institution, or company is responsible for the website? What kind of domain does the website use? Website URLs that end in .edu or .gov are often more reliable and objective than commercial websites ending in .com.

3. What opinions are expressed on the website? Does the website provide objective, factual information or does it seem more like an advertisement for a product or a platform for someone to express a personal opinion?

4. When was the website created? Is there an indication that the information has been kept up-to-date? Do the links still work or do they mostly lead to defunct websites?

5. Are there citations or clearly identified reliable sources for the information presented?

(Source: “Teaching Undergrads Web Evaluation: A Guide for Library Instruction,” Jim Kapoun, reference and instruction librarian at Southwest State University.)