Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is the difference between scholarly and popular articles?
Length: 1:44. Hit play and watch full screen or on YouTube.
Recommended databases for articles
Identify articles in scholarly journals or popular magazines by looking up your search terms in one of the selected databases below.
You also can find a complete list of online databases organized by subject on the Library's
A-Z List of Databases.
Oakton username and password to login from a non-campus computer.
NCJRS National Criminal Justice Research Center
Summaries of the more than 220,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection. When the full-text is available online, a link to the sponsoring agency is included with the abstract.
Chicago Tribune ProQuest
Provides searchable full-text daily Chicago Tribune articles from 1985 to the present.
Academic Search Complete EBSCO
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals - of which more than 7,300 are peer-reviewed journals.
Provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications using a variety of flexible search options. Access over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.
SocINDEX Full Text EBSCO
Sociology database with full text for more than 860 journals. Law enforcement researchers will benefit from the coverage of sub-disciplines such as criminology & criminal justice.
Military & Government Collection EBSCO
Includes full text for nearly 300 journals, periodicals, and current newspapers pertaining to all branches of the U.S. military and government.
EBSCO Advanced Searching Tutorial
Length: 2:38. Hit play and watch full screen or on YouTube.
Use citation results from Google Scholar to find full-text articles in one of the Library's databases.