Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online resources about the Chicago region's history
Library of Congress
Online Chicago-related material in the Library of Congress includes photographs from the Chicago Daily News, 1902-1933. Browse by topic or search all collections for Chicago topics.
Chicago History Museum
The Chicago History Museum collects, preserves, and displays authentic pieces of Chicago and U.S. history.
Encyclopedia of Chicago
Contains thousands of historical resources - including articles, photos, maps, broadsides and newspapers - related to Chicago's history.
Chicago Tribune Historical ProQuest
Includes full-text and full-images of the Chicago Tribune in a searchable archive back to 1849. Once connected, select the ProQuest Historical Newspapers Chicago Tribune option.
Historical information from the Chicago Public Library
Freedom Day Demonstration, 1963
Film footage of the Freedom Day Demonstration, Chicago 1963. Courtesy of Kartemquin Films.
Chicago history books from Oakton's Library
Suggested subject headings for books about Chicago history
Chicago (Ill.) - History
Find more books at Oakton
Chicago Collections Consortium
Chicago Collections Consortium is an organization of libraries, museums, and other institutions with archives that preserves, presents, and promotes the history and culture of the Chicago region.
Explore Chicago Collections
Locate archival collections and digital images at member institutions of the Chicago Collections Consortium.
A look back at Chicago history: Haymarket
Attention workingmen! great mass meeting to-night. 1886. Printed Ephemera Collection, Library of Congress. Portfolio 337, Folder 4.
Search through millions of the world's books scanned and stored in Google's digital database.