LibGuides: Psychology: Background Information

What is background information?

Background information provides basic facts, history, descriptions and concepts about your topic. Use only the information that you find useful in starting your research. You can always return to your sources if you need more in-depth information as you get deeper into your research topic.

Find background information on a psychology topic

Begin your research by looking up your keywords in an online dictionary, encyclopedia or reference book.

Gale Medical Reference This link opens in a new window
Cross-searchable collection of several health science titles, including The Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests, The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine, Health and Wellness, and The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine. To limit a search to an individual title, use the "More" icon and then the "Title List" option.
Consumer Health Complete EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Provides access to nearly 500 full text, consumer health magazines and journals.
Credo Reference - All Subjects Search This link opens in a new window
Contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles. After using the Facts on File Health Reference Center (above), this is a great place for you to gather additional information on your psychology topic.

CREDO Tutorial

Length: 2:48. Hit play and then watch full screen.