Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
U.S. Geological Survey
USGS offers a variety of maps, atlases, and GIS tools.
Provides access to satellite images, aerial photographs, digital cartographic data, and USGS paper maps
Historical Topographic Maps
Locate and view metadata and historical maps through a map name search
Image Gallery Collections
Includes Earth as Art, State Mosaics, and the Journey of Lewis and Clark.
National Geospatial Program
Provides leadership for USGS geospatial coordination, production and service activities.
Base data, map products and geospatial web services
National Map Small-Scale Collection
Although the 1997-2014 Edition of the National Atlas of the United States was retired in September 2014, the National Map continues to offer this free collection of small-scale datasets.
US Topo maps are available free on the Web through the USGS Store. Each map quadrangle is constructed in PDF format.
The National Atlas of the United States
The USGS lists alternative sources for some of the products and services formerly available through the National Atlas program
Introduction to the National Map
Additional Agency Resources
data.census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau. Select either the free-form single search bar or an advanced search filter option.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Search the DCD for a wide range of health-related maps.
Find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government.
National Park Service Maps
Includes park maps by state or territory and special collections.
Offers a variety of maps, including environmental maps, state maps, weather maps, and more.
Web Soil Surveys
Provides access to soil maps and data available online for more than 95 percent of the nation’s counties. Operated by the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS).
Maps - The World Factbook
World and regional reference maps from the CIA.
Federal Emergency Management Agency
FEMA Flood Map Service
Official public source for flood hazard information produced in support of the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).
FEMA Enterprise GIS Services
Includes Disaster Recovery Centers, Designated Counties, and Hurricane Evacuation Routes.
Ask a librarian about print maps, including topographic maps and soil surveys, available in the collection.