Get help from Oakton's Librarians!
| Email us | ||
|
Call us: |
||
| Text us: 847-906-2746 |
||
|
Social Media |
Class Climate Survey
- Library Class Session -- Survey
Please fill out this QUICK survey (only 4 questions). Responses are anonymous and they will help me improve this experience for other students.
Research Resources
Background Information Databases
The databases below provide an overview of a topic. Use these to:
- Discover the basics about your topic
- Learn new keywords
- Learn about the important dates, people, events, and more
- Find links and references to new sources
- Explore more than one side to your issue (Opposing Viewpoints)
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowEach issue examines a single "hot" topic with comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts.
- Credo Reference - All Subjects Search This link opens in a new windowContains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowDatabase of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills. It contains reference book titles, pro and con viewpoint articles, and a variety of periodicals, podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs.
Find News Articles
Use the databases below to find news articles. You can also find news articles on Google, but using the databases allows you to make your search much more specific and will link you to news articles that you don't have to pay for.
- Academic Search Complete EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals - of which more than 7,300 are peer-reviewed journals.
- New York Times in Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Use this link to confine your Nexis Uni search to the New York Times.
Once connected, select the "Continue" button.
When searching New York Times be sure you type your search terms in the left sidebar as shown below:
Research Vocabulary
citation: The information about a source required to locate the source (eg., title, author, publisher, date, and more), formatted according to a specific style.
database: An organized, searchable, electronic information storage system
subject term: a standardized word or phrase that describes a main idea in an article or entry
keyword: a specific, significant word that describes a topic or appears frequently in discussions of a topic