Additional Info
- Get Writing Help from the Tutoring CenterThe Learning Center offers free tutoring to all Oakton students in a variety of subjects. Find out more!
- Using Databases at OaktonLearn how to get the most out of commonly searched Oakton Library databases.
Adjunct Faculty, Library
Welcome to the Library's EGL 102-004 research guide!
After our library workshops on February 28 and March 18, this guide will continue to be available for the remainder of the Spring 2024 term. Use it to locate topics and resources for your EGL 102 writing projects. Let's get started! -- Rebecca Sedam. Librarian
Choosing a Topic
Click on the square on the bottom right for "Full Screen" to access a larger version of this video. After the video starts, Closed Captioning is available with the CC option.
Explore!
Browse for topics on the Opposing Viewpoints, CQ Researcher, or Credo Reference databases. Academic Search Complete is a good option for articles once you have identified your topic. (See above links)
You can access these databases from off campus by logging in with your myOakton username and password.
Be sure to select a topic that matters to you.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowDatabase of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills. It contains reference book titles, pro and con viewpoint articles, and a variety of periodicals, podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs.
- Help guide for Opposing ViewpointsThis is Oakton Library's in-house guide to getting the most out of the Opposing Viewpoints in Context database.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowEach issue examines a single "hot" topic with comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts.
- Help guide for CQ ResearcherThis is Oakton Library's in-house guide to getting the most out of the CQ Researcher database.
- Credo Reference - All Subjects Search This link opens in a new windowContains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
- Academic Search Complete EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals - of which more than 7,300 are peer-reviewed journals.
- Help guide for Academic Search CompleteThis is Oakton Library's in-house guide to getting the most out of the Academic Search Complete database.
EGL 102 Library Workshop Learning Outcomes
- Explain the peer review process.
- Develop new, specific research questions after conducting an initial search in order to refine general research questions.
- Compare information-sharing access between marginalized and privileged groups.
- Describe how the unique contributions of two or more types of information (background, scholarly, trade, statistic, image etc.) can contribute to their research question.
- Identify an acknowledged authority/foundational thinker related to their area of inquiry. Or Explore what voices may be absent from available research, or student's initial investigation on their topic.