Additional Info
-
Using Databases at OaktonLearn how to get the most out of commonly searched Oakton Library databases.
Subject-focused article databases
-
ERIC Education Resources - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations & theses, and books.
-
SocINDEX Full Text - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides more than 860 full-text titles including core sociology peer-reviewed journals.
-
Education Professional Development - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides specialized collection of information for professional educators, librarians, and education researchers on pedagogical theory and practice.
Individual publications
-
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Includes college and university news, information, and announcements from September 1989 to present. Does not include access to the Daily Briefing newsletter.
-
Community College Journal of Research and Practice This link opens in a new windowResearch papers in the fields of community college education and the behavioral sciences.
-
Community College Review - SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, peer-reviewed research and commentary on community colleges.
-
Inside Higher EdThe online publication Inside Higher Ed provides news, analysis and solutions for the higher education community. Some of the content is free.
Multi-disciplinary databases
-
Academic Search Ultimate - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with around 10,000 full-text periodicals - of which more than 9,000 are peer-reviewed journals.
-
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Database of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills. It contains reference book titles, pro and con viewpoint articles, and a variety of periodicals, podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs.
Need more options? We have you covered!
Look through this Oakton Library article database list to see if there are other resources that meet your research needs. Ask a Librarian for help with database section and search strategies.
-
ArticlesFind articles about any subject in research journals, newspapers, and magazines.
Organizations and Government websites
-
Community College Research Center (CCRC)As a leader in community college research and reform, CCRC produces reports for practitioners and policymakers seeking to improve student outcomes.
-
USA.govUSA.gov is the official portal to United States federal government information and services.
-
Complete College AmericaComplete College America (CCA) is a national advocate for dramatically increasing college completion rates and closing institutional performance gaps.
-
Achieving the DreamAchieving the Dream is a national initiative to improve community college student success outcomes - particularly for those students who traditionally face the most significant barriers to success.