Get help from Oakton's Librarians!
| Email us | ||
|
Call us: |
||
| Text us: 847-906-2746 |
||
|
Social Media |
Class Climate Survey
- Professor Martinique Haller Class Climate Survey
Class Climate survey for T/Th 11am Skokie class.
Get to know your topic
First Stop: Credo Reference
Background information helps you "catch up" on your topic. You can
- Note new keywords and specialized vocabulary
- Find important dates, events, people, and publications
- Find references to other sources in the bibliography (then find them!)
- Credo Reference - All Subjects Search This link opens in a new windowContains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
Engage with multiple perspectives
Next stop: CQ Research and/or Opposing Viewpoints
- Investigate breif overviews that showcase different viewpoints.
- Link to additional sources.
- Note! These are either reference or news sources, NOT scholarly / peer-reviewed sources.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowEach issue examines a single "hot" topic with comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowDatabase of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills. It contains reference book titles, pro and con viewpoint articles, and a variety of periodicals, podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs.
News Articles
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications using a variety of flexible search options. Access over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.
- Newspaper Source Plus EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 1,000 national and international newspapers - including Star Tribune, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (U.K.), Toronto Star, Bangkok Post, The Jordan Times, and many more - in a searchable archive.
Find Scholarly Articles
Third stop: Academic Search Complete & Exploring Subject-Specific Databases
But FIRST: What is peer-review?
- Academic Search Complete EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals - of which more than 7,300 are peer-reviewed journals.
- Search OWL (Oakton's Whole Library)
Via this link you can search for books, news articles, and academic articles. It casts a very wide net so you'll have to narrow your search quite a bit.
How to choose a subject specific database
- Oakton Library DatabasesSelect a relevant subject, then read the database descriptions and try one that sounds like a good match.
- SocINDEX Full Text EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides more than 860 full-text titles including core sociology peer-reviewed journals.
- ERIC Education Resources EBSCO This link opens in a new windowERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations & theses, and books.
- LGBTQ+ Source EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines, newspapers and videos.