EGL 102-051 - Marian Staats - Fall 2024

EGL102-051 -- Research Project

1)    Topic options -- focus and purpose: 

Base your topic on one of the texts we’ve discussed regarding politics and practices associated with food and food justice.  As part of a community of scholars thinking about food issues in our culture, you should aim to increase your colleagues’ understanding of one of the topics – e.g. food policies and practices, sustainability, industrial agriculture and alternatives, climate change, and social justice for all living beings – addressed this semester, preferably as it pertains to their lives as college students. 
Possible ideas that you could adapt to this assignment include the following: a proposal for an innovative educational program or forum dealing with issues related to food (for this you could further develop ideas addressed in your second essay); an extended critique of one of the theorists or sets of practices you’ve encountered; an argument about developing policies in your home community, or at Oakton, to address some aspect of food or food justice; a proposal for raising students’ consciousness at Oakton Community College about food issues; or, an argument about teaching a food issue we’ve covered using film, literature., or journalism designed to enlighten students, or enable them to enjoy thinking critically about our food situation in contemporary culture. These are simply suggestions – of course, you will have your own ideas! 

You also might consider a creative project other than a traditional research essay: a blog, Web page, artwork, music, or your own fiction or poetry or video. 

NOTE: Try to have at least a general sense of your topic by 10/30, as you’ll be meeting with Professor Geoff Greenberg for a library workshop to begin searching for sources. 

2)    Literature review and annotated bibliography: 

Working with a text that we’ve discussed or viewed during class, or with your own initial source, locate at least seven other sources, so that you will have a total of eight sources to work with: other academic articles, book chapters, editorials, or credible Web sites that add to your knowledge on the topic. Your literature review and annotated bibliography should tell readers what other scholars are saying about your topic and sketch out the key issues and parameters for debate. (If you decide on a partner project, you’ll need to find 15 total sources, with each of you finding seven.)

A) Requirements for selection of source materials: 
1) You must have contemporary sources, texts written within the last three years. 

2) You must also orient your analysis of the issue to a local context, preferably at Oakton or in Oakton's district, but the greater Chicago area is also fine. 

3) At least two (or four) of your sources must be from refereed journals or academic/university presses. 

4) Though it is expected that you will find source materials through the online library databases, only two (or four) of your final sources may be a Web site or Web page. 

B) Annotated bibliography, thesis and introduction (65 points): 

Using your eight (or 15) sources, you must produce an annotated bibliography. If you want to do a qualitative study, you might also interview or survey some people and use your interviews/surveys as sources, or you can take a cultural studies approach and analyze media like film, television, music, or video games if you want to discuss practices related to food or food politics as represented in literary or pop cultural texts. 

NOTE: For each source that you use outside of those covered in class, you must also submit copies of any pages from which you cite and highlight the cited (quoted or paraphrased) passages. I will not evaluate final essays without the annotated bibliography and highlighted copies of your source materials.

Your annotated bibliography, as well as a draft of your thesis and introduction (lit review), is due on Wednesday, 11/20, for an in-class workshop. If you wish to receive credit for the annotated bibliography, you must attend the workshop with the completed assignment.

3) Draft of Essay #3:
 
Finally, develop your 8-12 (or 15-20) page essay as an argument for your thesis, using at least 5 (or 10) of the sources you've collected. This essay should not merely summarize your source materials; rather, you should write your own argument, as you did for your first and second essays, and use sources to support your assertions. In drafting, you should be able to work from the formal outline of your main points.  

The draft of Essay #3 is due Wednesday, 11/27, and the revised draft on 12/4. For the draft, you should write as many pages as you can, typed and double-spaced in MLA format with standard margins and a Works Cited page. With the draft please also include copies of all outside sources from which you quote, with the quoted or paraphrased sections highlighted. I will not evaluate final essays without your highlighted source materials. 

The final version of Essay #3 is due on Wednesday, 12/11, 8-12 (or 15-20) pages, typed in MLA format with a Works Cited page and submitted with your annotated bibliography and outline, your workshop critiques, and your self-evaluation. 

REMEMBER: I will not evaluate essays without the highlighted outside source materials, annotated bibliography, and outline, so if any of these components are missing you will receive a “0” for the paper.

    Summary of Timetable and Point Values for Research Paper Components

2) W, 10/30            Research proposal due.            
3) W,11/6
W, 11/20            Lab time and conferences – bring sources, questions about process, development of focus, possible subtopics, and argument.
5) W, 11/20            Annotated bibliography, thesis, and intro (lit review) due for workshop (65 points)
7) W, 11/27 and W, 12/4    Draft and highlighted source materials due for workshop (30 points for workshops)
8) W, 12/11            Final essay due (175 points) with critiques, annotated bibliography, outline, and self-evaluation (30 points)
                Oral presentations of research (25 points)

Please feel free to bring any of your questions about this assignment either to class or to office hours, as I welcome the opportunity to assist you!