Welcome
Welcome to the research guide for the Environmental Studies Concentration at Oakton College. Use the tabs to navigate to resources in this guide. Please contact a librarian with questions, for help with research, or to make a suggestion for this guide.
Background Information - Reference Sources
Use the links below to explore basic facts, history, descriptions and concepts about topics in environmental studies. Here you will find specialized reference books and resources to begin your research.
- CQ Researcher - Environment, Climate and Natural ResourcesExamine issues related to climate and the environment, contributors provide multiple viewpoints on all sides of an issue. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts.
- Credo Reference - All Subjects Search This link opens in a new windowContains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
- Science Online This link opens in a new windowPresents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments.
- World Geography & Culture This link opens in a new window
Provides country geography and physical features, government, people, and society facts at a glance and in-depth coverage through country entries, maps, flags, images, statistics, news articles, a gazetteer, and more.
- EOL - Encyclopedia of LifeThe mission of the EOL is to: To increase awareness and understanding of living nature through an Encyclopedia of Life that gathers, generates, and shares knowledge in an open, freely accessible and trusted digital resource.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Science by ISBN: 9780028677583Publication Date: 2021"Aligned with national science standards and high school science curricula. Covers all major umbrellas of science, engineering, technology, mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology"--
- Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability This link opens in a new windowArticles on key concepts and core beliefs of sustainability, the practices and methods to achieve it - and the ways in which different areas of the world adopt them or not. After signing in, you must select a Berkshire volume to either browse or search.
The Routledge Handbook of Research Methods for Social-Ecological Systems by
The Routledge Handbook of Research Methods for Social-Ecological Systems provides a synthetic guide to the range of methods that can be employed in social-ecological systems (SES) research. The book is primarily targeted at graduate students, lecturers and researchers working on SES, and has been written in a style that is accessible to readers entering the field from a variety of different disciplinary backgrounds. Each chapter discusses the types of SES questions to which the particular methods are suited and the potential resources and skills required for their implementation, and provides practical examples of the application of the methods. In addition, the book contains a conceptual and practical introduction to SES research, a discussion of key gaps and frontiers in SES research methods, and a glossary of key terms in SES research. Contributions from 97 different authors, situated at SES research hubs in 16 countries around the world, including South Africa, Sweden, Germany and Australia, bring a wealth of expertise and experience to this book. The first book to provide a guide and introduction specifically focused on methods for studying SES, this book will be of great interest to students and scholars of sustainability science, environmental management, global environmental change studies and environmental governance. The book will also be of interest to upper-level undergraduates and professionals working at the science-policy interface in the environmental arena.
Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9780367898403Publication Date: 2021
Recommended Oakton Library databases for articles
Use your Oakton username and password to login from a non-campus computer.
- Academic Search Complete EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals - of which more than 7,300 are peer-reviewed journals.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowGreenFILE covers all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- Flipster This link opens in a new windowAccess a selection of popular and research-oriented digital magazines on your computer or mobile device with Flipster, the digital magazine newsstand from EBSCO. Browse copies of Astronomy Magazine and Sky & Telescope.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications using a variety of flexible search options. Access over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.