The databases and journals listed below offer content about art in the 20th Century. To access these resources you may have to sign in with your Oakton ID and password. If this step is needed, you'll be prompted to do so.
Databases
-
Art & Design (Academic Video Online) - Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new window
This video collection features a diverse range of artists and their artforms, including but not limited to fashion, architecture, film, painting, and visual and fine arts.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text multi-disciplinary database of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources. Some subject areas include art, business, economics, history, humanities, language and literature, law, medicine, allied health, science, and social sciences.
-
Saskia Art Images Collection This link opens in a new windowContains 30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture and architecture, as well as archaeological sites. To view image collections off campus, use the "OFF Campus" browsing options using the A-Z link above.
For "ON Campus" access, use this link and choose "Browse Collection ON Campus." -
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online provides access to Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Journals
-
American Art NewsThrough collaboration with the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Frick Collection, and the Brooklyn Museum, JSTOR has developed a collection of 19th and early 20th century American art journals found in the libraries of these prominent New York City museums.