Encyclopedias
-
Encyclopedia of the Palestinians
by
Call Number: Ebook; click for accessISBN: 9781438173528Publication Date: 2017-05-01This resource includes a document section, including entire texts or excerpts of key documents on Palestinian history. -
Encyclopedia Judaica
by
Call Number: ebook; click to accessISBN: 9780028659282Publication Date: 2007More than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists.
Historical Resources
-
"Israel and Islam" from Encyclopedia of Islam, Second EditionA history of the modern country of Israel with background information about the land from ancient times.
-
"Palestinians" from Encyclopedia of the Peoples of Africa and the Middle East, vol. 2This background article traces Palestinian history from the 12th Century B.C.E. to 2019.
-
Palestine from Late Antiquity: A Guide to the Postclassical WorldThis article provides an overview of Palestinian history from 135 C.E. to 750 C.E.
Research Databases
-
CQ Press Encyclopedia of Political Science This link opens in a new windowOffers a wide range of concepts and frameworks, both Western and non-Western, highlighting the intersections of politics with philosophy, cultural studies, sociology, religion, psychology, history, and economics.
-
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windoweHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering 281 cultures, including indigenous peoples and ethnic groups, as well as immigrant cultures in the U.S. and Canada. Comprehensive summaries cover topics such as economy, history and cultural relations, family and kinship, sociopolitical organization, and religion.
-
Human Rights Studies Online - Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new window
Provides comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event.
-
Modern World History Online - Infobase This link opens in a new window
Covers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history-from mid-15th century to the present.
-
Current Events through an Historical Lens: Israel and PalestineFrom Salem Press and Grey House publishing, this content is curated to help students understand current events through a historical lens.
Primary Documents
-
CQ Historic Documents 1972 to Present This link opens in a new windowTry searching this database for the following key words: Palestine, Gaza, Israel and more to find official government statements, speeches, and more.
-
The Avalon Project from Yale UniversityThe project contains a section called "The Middle East 1916-2001 : A Documentary Record." where you can find diplomatic primary sources related to the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, like treaties, UN resolutions, and other documents.
-
Maps of the Middle East from The University Of TexasThe Perry-Castañeda Library (PCL) Map Collection website contains very detailed maps of the area.
Maps
Use your preferred search engine (e.g., Google, Bing, Duck Duck go) to search for Geographic Information Systems Israel-Palestine, Interactive Map Gaza, GIS Maps Palestine Israel. Carefully evaluate your sources and note the organization that has created the website and their mission.
Oral Histories
-
Nabka Archive"The Nakba Archive is a grassroots oral history collective founded in 2002 to record and commemorate the experiences of Palestinian refugees in Lebanon who lived through the 1948 Nakba, ‘catastrophe.’ "
-
The Palestinian Oral History Archive"The Palestinian Oral History Archive is a project to digitize, index, catalog, preserve, and provide access (through a searchable digital platform) to an archival collection of around 1,000 hours of testimonies with first generation Palestinians and other Palestinian communities in Lebanon."
-
Toldot Yisrael"Toldot Yisrael is a Jerusalem based nonprofit dedicated to recording and sharing the firsthand testimonies of the men and women who helped found the State of Israel. Since 2007, Toldot Yisrael has been interviewing the members of Israel’s 1948 generation in order to capture and preserve the epic story of Israel's founding before it is too late."