Third Step: Dive into the research with using different types of sources
Websites News Scholarly Journals
News Databases
- U.S. Major Dailies
The database includes access to the following major newspapers in one location:
New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal , Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
NewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues.
- Newspaper Source Plus EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 1,000 national and international newspapers - including Star Tribune, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (U.K.), Toronto Star, Bangkok Post, The Jordan Times, and many more - in a searchable archive.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications using a variety of flexible search options. Access over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.
Scholarly Article Databases
Important note!
These databases do not contain ONLY scholarly articles. You must use the search filters and double-check the source.
- Academic Search Complete EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals - of which more than 7,300 are peer-reviewed journals.
- Oakton Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowO.W.L. (Oakton's Whole Library) is Oakton's library catalog and discovery service. Use it to search for books, articles, journals, and multimedia.
- Explore other databasesFilter databases by subject.