Database help
- Using Databases at OaktonStep-by-step instructions for selected Oakton Library Databases.
Multi-disciplinary databases (good for articles)
- Academic Search Complete EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals - of which more than 7,300 are peer-reviewed journals.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowDatabase of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills. It contains reference book titles, pro and con viewpoint articles, and a variety of periodicals, podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs.
Newspapers
- Chicago Tribune ProQuest This link opens in a new windowProvides searchable full-text daily Chicago Tribune articles from 1985 to the present.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications using a variety of flexible search options. Access over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.
Statistical information
- Statista This link opens in a new windowBusiness, marketing, demographic, and economic statistics along with content in the form of infographics, company/industry dossiers, market analytics, and forecasts.
Good to know . . .
Although library databases can look quite different from one another, most have these types of features:
- Search filters that allow you to limit/narrow your search (date, format, subject matter, etc.)
- Citation generators
- Article abstracts (summaries) and/or full-text of articles
- Options for printing, saving, and sharing articles