Learn More
- Flipster This link opens in a new windowRead the latest digital issues of magazines like Time and The New Yorker.
- Explore Ukraine and Russia through a historical lensThis special content from library database, Salem Press, provides a historical look at Ukraine and Russia to better understand current events.
- Credo ReferenceCredo will provide background information from a variety of reference sources.
- Facts on File: World Geography and CultureSelect Ukraine from the pull-down menu.
How to Pronounce Київ
The Ukrainian name for their capital city is Київ, which is usually transliterated Kyiv and pronounced KEE-eve.
The Russians call this city Киев, which transliterated Kiev and pronounced KEE-yev.
- How to Pronounce & Spell "Kyiv," and Why It MattersMark Rice-Oxley of The Guardian explains why the correct pronunciation matters.
Ukraine/The Columbia Encyclopedia
For a basic overview and facts about Ukraine, log in with your Oakton username and password to read: “Ukraine.” The Columbia Encyclopedia, by Paul Lagasse and Columbia University, 8th ed., Columbia University Press, 2018. Credo Reference, https://search.credoreference.com/articles/Qm9va0FydGljbGU6NjU3MzY0?summaryArticle=true&aid=15050. Accessed 28 April 2025.
National Archives
Ukraine has been a topic of discussion and debate for decades. Explore the United States National Archives for context about this region.
- Ukraine - (U.S. National Archives)Ukraine-related search results from the United States National Archives.