- Appointment with a LibrarianBook an appointment at either campus or online. Extra credit certificates provided after completion of post-appointment survey (no guarantee of extra credit; ask your professor).
- Library Workshops and EventsBrowse workshops and sign up. Extra credit certificates provided after completion of post-appointment survey (no guarantee of extra credit; ask your professor).
Research Databases: Getting started with background information
- Credo Reference - All Subjects Search This link opens in a new windowContains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowDatabase of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills. It contains reference book titles, pro and con viewpoint articles, and a variety of periodicals, podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs.
Research Databases : Digging Deeper
- Academic Search Complete EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals - of which more than 7,300 are peer-reviewed journals.
- Search OWL (Oakton's Whole Library)Via this link you can search for books, news articles, and academic articles. It casts a very wide net so you'll have to narrow your search quite a bit.
- How to use these databasesWatch videos and read step-by-step instructions for using databases.