Articles - EGL 102 - David Kossy - Fall 2022 - LibGuides at Oakton College

Recommended Article Databases

Identify articles in scholarly journals or popular magazines by looking up your search terms in one of the selected databases below.

You also can find a complete list of online databases organized by subject on the Library's Website under Find Articles.

Use your Oakton username and password to login from a non-campus computer.

Academic Search Complete EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals - of which more than 7,300 are peer-reviewed journals.
SocINDEX Full Text EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides more than 860 full-text titles including core sociology peer-reviewed journals.
American History Online This link opens in a new window
Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Each issue examines a single "hot" topic with comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications using a variety of flexible search options. Access over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.
Newspaper Source EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than national and international newspapers - including Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (London), Toronto Star - and selective full text for 390 U.S. regional newspapers in a searchable archive.
Chicago Sun-Times NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable full-text daily Chicago Sun-Times articles from 1985 to the present.
Chicago Tribune ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable full-text daily Chicago Tribune articles from 1985 to the present.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
NewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues.