It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The HistoryMakers, established in 1999, is a non-profit institution whose purpose is to record, preserve and disseminate the content of video oral history interviews highlighting the accomplishments of individual African Americans and African-American-led groups and movements. Its aim is to provide a unique scholarly and educational resource for exploring African American history and culture. It is unique among collections of African American heritage because of its large and varied scope, with interviewees from across the United States, from a variety of fields, and with memories stretching from the 1890s to the present. Rather than focus on one particular part of a person’s life or a single subject, such as a career or participation in the civil rights movement, the interviews are life oral histories covering the person’s entire span of memories as well as his or her own family’s oral history.
Each annual volume includes approximately 100 documents covering the most significant events of the years 1972 - present. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.
Primary vs. Secondary
History in Images & Streaming Video - Alexander Street Press
Provides a searchable collection of over 8,000 online streaming videos - including commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries - for the study of American history.
Provides a searchable online streaming video collection featuring award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews, and archival footage surveying African American history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relationships.
Provides a searchable streaming video collection of issue-based documentaries from around the world covering key issues and events of recent global history in the fields of Immigration and Border Studies, Middle East Studies, Urban Studies, Political Science, Globalization, and Human Rights.
Provides a searchable online collection of recent documentary, performance, animation, and biographical videos about the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender political, cultural, and social movements.
Provides a collection of critically acclaimed documentaries from independent filmmakers worldwide offering a geographical and chronological survey of human history covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania from the earliest civilizations to the fall of the Berlin Wall.