Science Magazines
Science Magazine
Science & AAAS Science has been at the center of important scientific discovery since its found in 1880-- with seed money from Thomas Edison. Today, Science continues to publish the very best in research across the sciences, with articles that consistently rank among the most cited in the world.
Smithsonian Magazine
Smithsonian magazine places a Smithsonian lens on the world, looking at the topics and subject matters researched, studied and exhibited by the Smithsonian Institution—science, history, art, popular culture and innovation—and chronicling them every day for their diverse readership.
Scientific American
Scientific American is the award-winning authoritative source for the science discoveries and technology innovations that matter.
Select Journals at Oakton
Electronic Journal of Severe Storms Meteorology
The Journal of Geology
The Journal publishes original research across a broad range of subfields in geology, including geophysics, geochemistry, sedimentology, geomorphology, petrology, plate tectonics, volcanology, structural geology, mineralogy, and planetary sciences.
Journal of Applied Meteorology and Climatology
Covers applied research related to physical meteorology, weather modification, satellite meteorology, radar meteorology, boundary layer processes, air pollution meteorology (including dispersion & chemical processes), agricultural & forest meteorology.
Oakton Catalog
These are a sample of journals you can get full text online through Oakton. You can find more through our Subject Category List of Online Periodical Titles in Oakton's Catalog.
Recommended Oakton Library databases for articles
Use your Oakton username and password to login from a non-campus computer.
- Academic Search Complete EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals - of which more than 7,300 are peer-reviewed journals.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowGreenFILE covers all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- Flipster This link opens in a new windowAccess a selection of popular and research-oriented digital magazines on your computer or mobile device with Flipster, the digital magazine newsstand from EBSCO. Browse copies of Astronomy Magazine and Sky & Telescope.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications using a variety of flexible search options. Access over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.
Other places to find articles
- USGS Publications WarehouseThis free tool provides access to publications from United States Geological Society scientists.
- Science.govAuthoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results.
- Google ScholarUse citation results from Google Scholar to find full-text articles in one of the Library's databases.