LibGuides: Performing Arts : Music, Speech, Theater, Drama: Article Databases

Recommended online databases for finding articles about Speech Topics

Identify articles in scholarly journals or popular magazines by looking up your search terms in one of the selected databases below.

You also can find a complete list of online databases organized by subject on the Library's A-Z List of Databases.

Use your Oakton username and password to login from a non-campus computer.

Academic Search Ultimate EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with around 10,000 full-text periodicals - of which more than 9,000 are peer-reviewed journals.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications using a variety of flexible search options. Access over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.
Gale Virtual Reference Library - Literature Research This link opens in a new window
Gale eBook editions of Concise Major 21st Century Writers, Drama for Students, Novels for Students, Poetry for Students, and Short Stories for Students.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Database of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills. It contains reference book titles, pro and con viewpoint articles, and a variety of periodicals, podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs.
SocINDEX Full Text EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides more than 860 full-text titles including core sociology peer-reviewed journals.

Vital Speeches of the Day
Published bi-weekly, this periodical contains the text of speeches from a wide range of political topic from 1934 to present available online.

Use citation results from Google Scholar to find full-text articles in one of the Library's databases.

Length: 1:44. Hit play and watch full screen or on YouTube.

Length: 3:27. Hit play and watch full screen or on YouTube.