Find Articles for Your Assignment - SOC 103 - Naffziger-Hirsch - Online - Spring 2024

Find Sociology Articles in Oakton's Library Databases

Try searches in both the general database, Academic Search Complete and the specialized database of sociology journals called SOC Index.

Remember to limit your results to peer reviewed articles by clicking the box on the left side of the results page.

For off campus access to the Oakton Library databases, use your myOakton user name and password.

Academic Search Complete EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals - of which more than 7,300 are peer-reviewed journals.
SocINDEX Full Text EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides more than 860 full-text titles including core sociology peer-reviewed journals.

Social Problems--Oxford Journals
Social Problems presents scholarly articles offering critical perspectives on contemporary social issues as well as influential sociological findings and theories that have the ability to help us better understand and deal with our complex social environment.

In Academic Search Complete and SOC Index, you can email your article with an APA citation.

Once you find your article, follow these steps:

Full text - To email the complete article, click "full text" (PDF full text if available)
Email Icon - Using the Tool Bar on the right side of the page, click the email icon,
Citation Format - Choose APA citation from the pull down menu.
Email to: - Enter your email address. Also add some detail about the article in the Subject line as a reminder.

Remember that PDFs of the article will be an attachment to your email.

The two databases linked below include news from around the world.

Access World News This link opens in a new window
NewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications using a variety of flexible search options. Access over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Each issue examines a single "hot" topic with comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Database of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills. It contains reference book titles, pro and con viewpoint articles, and a variety of periodicals, podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs.