Select Journals
SIAM Review
Articles and book reviews covering industrial and applied mathematics.
American Journal of Mathematics
Articles of broad appeal covering the major areas of contemporary mathematics.
Bulletin (new series) of the American Mathematical Society (Online)
Publishes expository articles on contemporary mathematical research, written in a way that gives insight to mathematicians who may not be experts in the particular topic.
Oakton Catalog
These are a sample of journals you can get full text online through Oakton. You can find more through our Subject Category List of Online Periodical Titles in Oakton's Catalog.
Recommended Databases
Identify articles in scholarly journals or popular magazines by looking up your search terms in one of the selected databases below.
You also can find a complete list of online databases organized by subject on the Library's A-Z List of Databases.
Use your Oakton username and password to login from a non-campus computer.
- Academic Search Ultimate EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with around 10,000 full-text periodicals - of which more than 9,000 are peer-reviewed journals.
- ERIC Education Resources EBSCO This link opens in a new windowERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations & theses, and books.
- arXiv.orgarXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 1,804,183 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.
- zbMathAn open access database with reviews and abstracts in pure and applied mathematics.
- Google ScholarGoogle scholar is a great place to find articles, but the narrowing options are more limited. Remember, do not pay for articles you find on Google Scholar; the library can get you those articles for free.