Librarian
Related Research Guides
What is background information?
Background information provides basic facts, history, descriptions and concepts about your topic. Use only the information that you find useful in starting your research. You can always return to your sources if you need more in-depth information as you get deeper into your research topic.
Recommended Databases for Background Information
- Credo Reference - All Subjects Search This link opens in a new windowContains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Science This link opens in a new windowCovers all major areas of science, engineering, technology, as well as mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology. Entries typically describe scientific concepts, provide overviews of scientific areas and, in some cases, define terms.
- LearningExpress PrepSTEP for Colleges - Core Math and Science Skills This link opens in a new windowBuild your skills in these essential subject areas: Developmental Math, Algebra, Geometry, Introductory Statistics & Probability, Pre-Calculus & Calculus, and Science.
- Science Online This link opens in a new windowPresents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments. Under "Topic Centers" click on "Mathematics" for subject-specific overviews.
- Salem Press eBooks This link opens in a new windowOnline access to selected Salem Press titles, including Principles of Mathematics.
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new windowBasic introduction to over 75,000 different topics, including encyclopedia articles, maps, news, definitions, and statistics. Includes a dictionary/thesaurus, media (photographs & selected audio/video files), famous quotations, country profiles, selected websites, and news articles.
- Wolfram MathWorldA free, online Mathematics encyclopedia.
Helpful Online Resources
Below is a list of online resources that may come in handy as you study different levels of math.
- DesmosDesmos is a free, online graphing calculator. It is great for helping visualize complex math problems.
- GeoGebraFree, online digital tool to help visualize geometric graphs, shapes, and equations.
- Code AcademyCode Academy is a free, online website where you can apply some of the coding knowledge you learned in class.
- PhysicsA free, online digital resource to help test and visualize math or physics simulations.
- TinkerCAD (free account required)TinkerCAD is a free, browser-based Computer-Aided Design (CAD) program.
You can use basic shapes, letters, and numbers to create three-dimensional designs (for 3D printing).
This website is also helpful with visualizing shapes in three-dimensions.