For more related materials, search the O.W.L. Catalog using keywords related to your topic (see suggestions below). Focus on key concepts rather than full sentences (e.g., climate policy United States). Use the advanced search to combine terms or limit by date, format, or subject. After you get results, scan titles and subject headings to identify relevant sources. You can use filters to narrow your search and click on individual records to read summaries, check availability, and access citation tools.
Library Resources
-
Fundamentals of Additive Manufacturing for the Practitioner
by
ISBN: 9781119750529Publication Date: 2021The book opens by explaining how traditional manufacturing work roles change as industries move into additive manufacturing. Subsequent chapters follow the flow of the typical production process and explain topics such as additive manufacturing materials, processes, inputs, machine and build preparation, post-processing, and best practices. Case study examples in every chapter present common manufacturing issues or questions, then work through how to address them using additive manufacturing techniques. Each chapter also includes a problems/opportunities section that prompts readers to apply the chapter's techniques to their own work. -
Beginning AutoCAD® 2021 Exercise Workbook
by
ISBN: 9780831136598Publication Date: 2020Available online and in print. There's simply no better resource for anyone learning about and/or teaching CAD software than the Beginning AutoCAD Exercise Workbook. The detailed, step-by-step format makes mastering AutoCAD much easier, in or out of a formal classroom. Users can use one value that measures the chord distance between the end points of each cloud arc to create more consistent revision clouds. -
Making It in America
by
ISBN: 9780593316887Publication Date: 2024A moving and eye-opening look at the story of manufacturing in America, whether it can ever successfully return to our shores, and why our nation depends on it, told through the experience of one young couple in Maine as they attempt to rebuild a lost industry, ethically. -
Chip War
by
ISBN: 9781982172008Publication Date: 2022The Financial Times Business Book of the Year, this epic account of the decades-long battle to control one of the world's most critical resources--microchip technology--with the United States and China increasingly in fierce competition is "pulse quickening...a nonfiction thriller" (The New York Times). -
Advanced Automotive Fault Diagnosis
by
ISBN: 9780367330521Publication Date: 2020Diagnostics: Test don't guess. Learn all the skills you need to pass Level 3 and 4 Vehicle Diagnostics courses from IMI, City & Guilds, and BTEC, as well as ASE, AUR, and other higher-level qualifications. Along with 25 new real-life case studies, this fifth edition of Advanced Automotive Fault Diagnosis includes new content on diagnostic tools and equipment: VCDS, decade boxes, scanners, pass through, sensor simulators, break out boxes, multimeter updates for HV use, and more . It explains the fundamentals of vehicle systems and components, and it examines diagnostic principles and the latest techniques employed in effective vehicle maintenance and repair.
-
Academic Search Ultimate - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with around 10,000 full-text periodicals - of which more than 9,000 are peer-reviewed journals.
-
Auto Repair Source - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Auto Repair Source offers a user-friendly search experience and access to information to help users diagnose, repair and maintain vehicles. Diagrams and images can be easily magnified and printed.
-
Credo Reference - All Subjects Search This link opens in a new windowContains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
-
Engineering Case Studies Online – Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new window
Provides a wide range of videos and text that cover engineering successes and failures. Materials include documentaries, accident reports, experiments, case studies, lectures, interviews and more from credible sources from around the world.
-
Home Improvement Source - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Database of "how-to" information covering a variety of do-it-yourself home improvement and repair projects. Includes access to the Home Improvement Reference eBook Collection. Subjects include gardening, design, painting and decorating, woodworking, and more.
-
Scientific American This link opens in a new window
Search for full-text journal articles online from January 1993 to the present. Scientific American is the world's premier magazine of scientific discovery and technological innovation for the general public.
-
Linux FormatA magazine dedicated to the Linux operating system, providing comprehensive guides, reviews, tutorials, and news for users of all levels, covering everything from installing the latest Linux distributions to advanced programming techniques, Raspberry Pi projects, and the latest developments in the open source software world, all presented with an accessible and informative approach.
-
Python Coding & Programming ManualThe Complete Manual is a biannual magazine focused on teaching Python programming. Aimed at students, computer enthusiasts, and beginners, it offers step-by-step tutorials to help readers understand Python's functionality and applications. The magazine covers software updates, hardware changes, and programming concepts, providing a comprehensive learning experience for aspiring coders.
-
TechLife NewsConsists of computer hardware and software reviews and previews, technology news and opinion articles, technical how-to guides, and a 'help station' feature where the magazine's contributors provide answers to technical queries from readers.
Searching the Library's Catalog
-
Oakton Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowO.W.L. (Oakton's Whole Library) is Oakton's library catalog and discovery service. Use it to search for books, articles, journals, and multimedia.
Suggested search terms
For broad searches use terms like:
- Lean manufacturing.
- Just-in-time manufacturing.
- Computer-integrated manufacturing.
- Digital manufacturing.
- Contract manufacturing.
- Job shop manufacturing.
- Material requirements planning.
- Advanced planning and scheduling.
- Electromechanics.
- Revit.
- Plumbing.
- Machine Design.
- Mechanical Engineering.
- HVAC.
- Mechanical Design.
- Computer Aided Design.
Manufacturing Technology and Mechanical Design Podcasts
-
Making ChipsWelcome to MakingChips - We believe that manufacturing is challenging, but if you are connected to a community of leaders, you can elevate your skills, solve your problems and grow your business.
-
Manufacturing Happy HourWelcome to Manufacturing Happy Hour, the podcast where we get real about the latest trends and technologies impacting modern manufacturers.