Cite It Right! Workshop

Most databases contain tools to help you create correctly formatted citations for a particular article. One of the advantages of using databases over search engines is the ease of creating and exporting citations. Below are some examples of popularly used databases and how to create and export citations from selected articles.

One easy way to get a copy of the citation is to email the citation and the article to yourself.  Other options are listed below with detailed instructions for each database.

In Academic Search Complete and SOC Index, you can email your article with an APA citation.

Once you find your article, follow these steps:

1. Full text - To email the complete article, click "full text" (PDF full text if available)
2. Email Icon - Using the Tool Bar on the right side of the page, click the email icon,
3. Citation Format - Choose the citation style you need from the pull down menu. (APA? or MLA?)
4. Email to: - Enter your email address.  Also add some detail about the article in the Subject line as a reminder.

Remember that PDFs of the article will be an attachment to your email.

To export citations from Academic Search Complete EBSCOoa:

• Click on the title of the article your plan to use. 
• Select the "Cite" icon from the right hand side of the page.
• Doing so brings up formatted citations that you can either copy and paste into your bibliography, OR.
• Click on "Export to Bibliographic Management Software."
• Several options will present themselves, including RefWorks, EndNote, EasyBib, and Noodle Tools. Select whichever one you are using.
• Some of these options will allow you to check and edit your citations. 

To export citations from CQ Researcher (CQ Researcher Plus Archives 1923 to Present):

• Select the title for the article you want to cite.
• Select the "Cite Now!" icon.
• Select the citation style you wish to use.
• Then either use the drop down menu to select the bibliographic citation management software you are using. EndNote, ProCite, RefWorks, Reference Manager , and Word Processor are all available. 

To export citations from Opposing Viewpoints (Opposing Viewpoints Galeoa):

• Select the title for the article you want to cite.
• Select the "Cite" icon from the top right of the page.
• Select the citation style you wish to use.
• Then select the bibliographic citation management software you are using. Easy Bib, Google Drive, One Drive, and RefWorks are all available.