Finding a Research Topic
| Interest | Mind Maps | Topic | Viewpoints | Summarize |
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Start with a general interest. This might be a topic with your discipline or class. |
Keep track of the different ways your topic is being talked about. Create a mind map of all the subjects, keywords, and phrases used to talk about your topic. | Identify one subject area for your research topic. | Consider different viewpoints. Learn how experts in the field are talking about your topic and their stances. | Finally, write a brief summary of your paper goals and highlight any arguments you will be making. |
|
Education Teaching Learning Curriculum Classroom Pedagogy Educational Psychology Educational Research Educational Technology K-12 Education |
Higher Education Early Childhood Education Special Education Educational Assessment Educational Policy Educational Leadership Teacher Training Student Engagement Online Learning Blended Learning |
Classroom Management Educational Trends Educational Practices Educational Equity Inclusive Education Educational Assessment Educational Psychology Literacy Education STEM Education Multicultural Education |
Educational Philosophy Educational Administration Educational Resources Distance Education Educational Innovation Education Reform School Administration Educational Measurement Educational Evaluation Parental Involvement in Education |
- Oakton Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowO.W.L. (Oakton's Whole Library) is Oakton's library catalog and discovery service. Use it to search for books, articles, journals, and multimedia.
- ERIC Education Resources EBSCO This link opens in a new windowERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations & theses, and books.
- Academic Search Ultimate EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with around 10,000 full-text periodicals - of which more than 9,000 are peer-reviewed journals.
- Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new windowIncludes college and university news, information, and announcements from September 1989 to present.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowDatabase of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills. It contains reference book titles, pro and con viewpoint articles, and a variety of periodicals, podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowEach issue examines a single "hot" topic with comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts.
- Community College Journal of Research and Practice This link opens in a new windowResearch papers in the fields of community college education and the behavioral sciences.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text multi-disciplinary database of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources. Some subject areas include art, business, economics, history, humanities, language and literature, law, medicine, allied health, science, and social sciences.