- Oakton Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowO.W.L. (Oakton's Whole Library) is Oakton's library catalog and discovery service. Use it to search for books, articles, journals, and multimedia.
- Academic Search Ultimate EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with around 10,000 full-text periodicals - of which more than 9,000 are peer-reviewed journals.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowEach issue examines a single "hot" topic with comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowDatabase of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills. It contains reference book titles, pro and con viewpoint articles, and a variety of periodicals, podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs.
- SocINDEX Full Text EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides more than 860 full-text titles including core sociology peer-reviewed journals.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
- Humanities Source Ultimate EBSCO This link opens in a new windowIncludes more 1,200 journals in full-text. Provides articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
- American History Online This link opens in a new windowSpans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience.
- Black Life in America This link opens in a new window
The experiences and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media.
- Chicago Tribune ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable full-text daily Chicago Tribune articles from 1849 to the present.
- Harper's Weekly This link opens in a new windowOnline version of Harper's Weekly (1857-1912), the leading American illustrated magazine of its day, covering political, military, social, and cultural stories. May be browsed by date or literary genre; the full text is searchable by keywords.
- History Makers Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Video oral history interviews highlighting the accomplishments of individual African Americans and African-American-led groups and movements from across the United States, from a variety of fields, and with memories stretching from the 1890s to the present.