Article Databases - EGL102 - McNamara/Joy - Spring 2025

Database Tutorial

Library databases are robust tools that can help you:

find information from a certain time period (limit by date)
locate articles for the consumer/general public (limit to magazines)
locate academic research (limit to scholarly or academic journals)
cite articles using MLA Style (locate the Cite! feature of the database)
link to a particular article (utilize the persistent link generator in the database OR connect directly to full-text)

The tutorial below shows helpful ways to navigate and search the library's databases and make use of limiters that will help you narrow down your results.

Using Databases - Academic Search Complete Tutorial

Some Recommended Databases

Credo Reference - All Subjects Search
Contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
Academic Search Ultimate EBSCO
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with around 10,000 full-text periodicals - of which more than 9,000 are peer-reviewed journals.
CQ Researcher
Each issue examines a single "hot" topic with comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Database of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills. It contains reference book titles, pro and con viewpoint articles, and a variety of periodicals, podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs.
Statista
Business, marketing, demographic, and economic statistics along with content in the form of infographics, company/industry dossiers, market analytics, and forecasts.