Student Loan Research
Article Databases for Research
-
Academic Search Ultimate EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with around 10,000 full-text periodicals - of which more than 9,000 are peer-reviewed journals.
-
Access World News This link opens in a new window
NewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues.
-
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowEach issue examines a single "hot" topic with comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text multi-disciplinary database of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources. Some subject areas include art, business, economics, history, humanities, language and literature, law, medicine, allied health, science, and social sciences.
-
Statista This link opens in a new windowBusiness, marketing, demographic, and economic statistics along with content in the form of infographics, company/industry dossiers, market analytics, and forecasts.
Current News & Updates
Student Loan Statistics
Statista is a valuable database tool for researching student loans, offering a wide range of statistics, charts, and reports on student debt trends, repayment rates, and government loan programs. It also provides insights into average loan balances, interest rates, and the economic impact of student debt, making it a great resource for academic research and financial planning.
Here are some useful keywords for researching student loans on Statista or other databases.
-
Student loan debt
-
Average student loan balance
-
Federal vs. private student loans
-
Student loan interest rates
Source: NCES. (May 25, 2023). Percentage of students attending 2-year and 4-year institutions who have student loans in the United States 2020/21, by type of institution [Graph].
Source: Experian. (March 1, 2023). Average value of student loan debt held in the United States in 2022, by generation (in 1,000 U.S. dollars) [Graph]. In Statista.