Searching for books in the Library's Catalog
Find books and resources on law enforcement and criminal justice. Start by going to the library catalog search page. In the search box, type keywords or phrases in quotation marks for more precise results,
Review the search results to see available formats, such as print books or eBooks. These resources include case studies, research, and practical guides to help you explore topics in law enforcement and criminal justice.
Suggested search terms
When searching the Oakton library catalog or I-Share, narrow down the large list of results by using the suggestions listed under "filter your results." The following subject headings will help you get started.
- Law enforcement
- Police
- Criminal justice, Administration of
- Crime
- Crime prevention
- Criminal investigation
- Crime scene searches
- Forensic sciences
From the Library's Collection
-
American Injustice
by
ISBN: 9780062997357Publication Date: 2022Rudolf takes the reader inside crime scenes to examine forensic evidence left by perpetrators, revisits unsolved murders to detail how and why the true culprits were never prosecuted, reveals how confirmation bias leads police and prosecutors to employ tactics that make wrongful arrests and prosecutions more likely, and exposes how poverty and racism fundamentally distort the system. -
Digital punishment : privacy, stigma & the harms of data-driven criminal justice
by
ISBN: 9780367770297Publication Date: 2020This analysis describes the transformation of criminal records into millions of data points, the commodification of this data into a valuable digital resource, and the impact of this shift on people, society, and public policy. -
Human Rights Policing
by
ISBN: 9781032115221Publication Date: 2022This book teaches law enforcement professionals how to apply human rights to their everyday interactions with community members. -
Profit and Punishment
by
ISBN: 9781250274649Publication Date: 2021As a columnist for the St. Louis Post-Dispatch, Tony Messenger has spent years in county and municipal courthouses documenting how poor Americans are convicted of minor crimes and then saddled with exorbitant fines and fees. -
Queering Law and Order: LGBTQ Communities and the Criminal Justice System
by
ISBN: 9781793601070Publication Date: 2020Queering Law and Order: LGBTQ Communities and the Criminal Justice System examines the state of LGBTQ people within the criminal justice system. -
Stop and Frisk and the Politics of Crime in Chicago
by
ISBN: 9780197675052Publication Date: 2022Wesley G. Skogan offers a comprehensive analysis of the stop-and-frisk policy, its origins as Chicago's predominant strategy for responding to violence, and its impact on crime and public opinion.
Library Databases & Journals
Identify articles in scholarly journals or popular magazines by looking up your search terms in one of the selected databases below.
Find a complete list of online databases organized by subject on the Library's A-Z List of Databases. Use your Oakton username and password to login from a non-campus computer.
-
Criminal Justice & Public Safety (Academic Video Online) - Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new window
This video collection features documentaries, training videos, and interviews illustrating the strategies, techniques, and experiences of professionals and prisoners in the criminal justice system.
-
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Among the many databases included, HeinOnline’s journal collection features nearly 2,800 periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases.
-
Military & Government Collection - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Includes full text for nearly 300 journals, periodicals, and current newspapers pertaining to all branches of the U.S. military and government.
-
Nexis Uni - Legal This link opens in a new window
Provides access to primary source material such as case law, statutes, and regulations as well as secondary source materials such as legal news or law reviews for background or analysis of a legal topic. NOTE: If you get a security message blocking your access, call Oakton Library Reference 847.635.1644
-
SocINDEX Full Text - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowSociology database with full text for more than 860 journals. Law enforcement researchers will benefit from the coverage of sub-disciplines such as criminology & criminal justice.
Academic/Professional Journals
We also subscribe to criminal justice and law enforcement academic/professional journals. These journals provide peer-reviewed research, case studies, and professional insights that support coursework, training, and ongoing developments in the field.
-
American Journal of Criminal JusticeFocuses on criminal justice topics & issues, including the criminal justice process, interplay between system components, problems & solutions, innovative practices, policy development & implementation, evaluative research, & other related interests.
-
Criminal Justice EthicsArticles focusing on ethical issues in criminal justice by philosophers, criminal justice professionals, lawyers and judges and the general public on topics relating to the police, courts, corrections and issues in legal philosophy.