Librarian
Brittany Coleman
She, her, hers
Contact:
Oakton College
1600 E Golf Rd
Des Plaines, IL 60016
1600 E Golf Rd
Des Plaines, IL 60016
(847) 635-1632
Research is Key!
We utilize library databases in our academic research to access scholarly and peer-reviewed articles, ensuring the retrieval of high-quality and credible information.
Scholarly Articles (Peer-reviewed)
-
Reviewed by the editorial board and peer-reviewed board
-
Written by experts in their given field (s), scholars or researchers
-
Reports findings of a research project
-
Often published in scholarly and/or academic journals
Non-Scholarly Articles
-
Language is simple and conversational
-
Written to entertain the audience or sell a product
-
Published by popular media and news sources
-
Authors are usually staff writers and professional journalists
Library Databases
Boolean Operators
- AND: Using AND narrows a search by combining terms
- OR: Using OR broadens a search to include results that contain either of the words you're looking for
- NOT: Use NOT to exclude a word
- Quotation Marks "": Searches for exact phrases
Database Filters
- Available online: The article is available online
- Peer-reviewed journals: Evaluating research studies before they are published
- Year of publication: Published within the last 5 years
- Full text: The entire text is available online
Evaluating your resources
- Timeliness: Was the article published in the last 5 years?
- Authority: Does this information come from an author or organization that has authority to speak on your topic?
- Audience: Who are the intended readers and what is the publication's purpose?
- Relevance: What connection can be made between the information that is presented and your assignment?
Strategic Marketing Planning for the Small to Medium-Sized Business ~[172]~ ~[135]~: 9781606493731~[136]~: 2012-02-28Eighty percent of small to medium sized new businesses fail within 2 years of their inception. Ninety percent of businesses close after 10 years of operation. While many factors contribute to failure, the lack of an organized, measurable, strategic marketing plan often is the underlying cause. Strategic Marketing Planning for the Small to Medium Sized Business addresses these issues by providing both narrative marketing theory as well as workbook exercises.
Understanding Markets and Strategy ~[172]~ ~[135]~: 9780749471538~[136]~: 2014-08-03Understanding Markets and Strategy explains the context, meaning and value of markets. It shows you how to analyze them, develop appropriate strategies and respond appropriately to changing competitive dynamics, ensuring that resources are used to create the greatest chances of success.
- Academic Search Complete EBSCO ~[392]~Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals - of which more than 7,300 are peer-reviewed journals.
- Business Source Complete EBSCO ~[392]~Includes full text business-related magazines and peer-reviewed journals covering marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics along with Country Reports, Industry Reports, Market Research Reports, SWOT Analyses, and Company Profiles.
- Business Source Complete SWOT & Company Info EBSCO ~[392]~Includes full text business-related magazines and peer-reviewed journals covering marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Features a useful browse option for Country Reports, Industry Reports, Market Research Reports, SWOT Analyses, Company Profiles, and more.
- Nexis Uni - Business ~[392]~Provides a full range of credible sources for business information, including business and financial news, U.S., and international company financial information from government or private sources, market research, industry reports, and actual SEC filings. Search features permit comparison of companies based on criteria such as sales, income, and number of employees. NOTE: If you get a security message blocking your access, call Oakton Library Reference 847.635.1644.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context ~[392]~Database of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills. It contains reference book titles, pro and con viewpoint articles, and a variety of periodicals, podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs.
- Statista ~[392]~Business, marketing, demographic, and economic statistics along with content in the form of infographics, company/industry dossiers, market analytics, and forecasts.
- Sports MarketingOffers industry insights from Richard K. Miller & Associates.